Sony XDCAM EX and Premiere Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2008, 12:02 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Sony XDCAM EX and Premiere Pro

Looks like Adobe will have its own clip browser for the EX cams....

Check it out... there is a small movie showing how it works...

Adobe Premiere Pro CS4: Features
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2008, 01:18 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
They were showing this at IBC and it looked very slick.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 07:53 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
EX files adn Premiere CS4

I wanted to test EX files handling by Premiere CS4, so downloaded the trial but something is missing - I can neither create a HD project (other than DVCPROHD), nor import mp4's pr mxf's (importer generic error, or unknown format).

Is it the trial version limitation, or do I need to know something not obvious?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:06 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
No one is editing EX video in CS4?
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:17 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Patience! It has only been the first 3 hours of Monday morning after a major holiday weekend in North America since your original post.

I don't do EX so can't say, but there has already been one significant update and at least one minor update to CS4 so it may well be that this capability was either fixed or added after the initial release.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:22 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Posts: 9
DAV's TechTable: XDCAM and Premiere Pro 3.2

Piotr,

The above link is to a page, with video links, of the workflow for XDCAM EX and PPro 3.2. It is the same for CS4. The demo does have some features disabled. HDV does not work in the demo, and I think some of the other formats are disabled, also.

While I don't own an XDCAM EX, I have had files sent to me in that format and they work fine in PPro CS4.
Zach Cobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:24 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 140
I am not 100% sure, but I think the trial version is not 100% functional for HD editing. Has something to do with the HD codecs, which only get installed with a serial number.
John Hedgecoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:30 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zach Cobb View Post
DAV's TechTable: XDCAM and Premiere Pro 3.2

Piotr,

The above link is to a page, with video links, of the workflow for XDCAM EX and PPro 3.2. It is the same for CS4. The demo does have some features disabled. HDV does not work in the demo, and I think some of the other formats are disabled, also.

While I don't own an XDCAM EX, I have had files sent to me in that format and they work fine in PPro CS4.
Thanks Zach. Indeed, not seeing even HDV in the possible project settings, I'm sure now the trial version has serious limitations.

Well, Adobe is not going to steal me away from Vegas this way :)
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:34 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
I was getting the same "generic error" when I had both CS3 and CS4 installed same time. Now with only CS4 importing works fine
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 11:51 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Tuomas,

Is this with the demo version of CS4? I have CS3 and my EX stuff edits great.

I downloaded the trial as well, but can't import. I'm thinking this has been disabled as there is no HDV either.

Bummer, I was wanting to try out some of the features before purchasing.
__________________
Reel Inspirations - www.reelinspirations.com
Commercials, Dramas, Image Pieces, Documentaries, Motion Graphics
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 12:11 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 107
it was digital download version from adobe site
Tuomas Sebastien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 12:37 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuomas Sebastien View Post
it was digital download version from adobe site
So was mine, but I only have the current (ie. CS4) version on my system (no any other Adobe stuff apart from the Acrobat reader). Yet - no HDV, no HD other than DVCPROHD, no EX import.
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 12:59 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
I believe that Adobe license the Mpeg codec from a third party (mainconcept I think) so they don't include it in the demo versions as they would have to pay royalties.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 04:42 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bristol UK
Posts: 1,271
I've handed my native EX1 files to an editor who was using PP CS3.
I watched with my own eyes as he pulled the files from my portable hard drive onto the timeline, no rewrapping or converting at all.

Paul.
__________________
Round 2
Panasonic HC-X1, Vinten PB, Sennheiser G3 bits. Vegas pro 14 on i7,AMD Radeon RX480 8GB.
Paul Kellett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 12:35 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 402
I use Final Cut, but my work partner use Premier on his PC and it works very well.
When the camera came out however it took a while before Adobe was up and running
Joachim Hoge is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network