Is my PC strong enough for Premiere Pro? - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 23rd, 2004, 04:01 PM   #16
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amsterdam NL -Turnhout BE
Posts: 158
2 Ghz P4, 768 meg 2x80gb never had any problems running premiere pro
Jan Roovers
Jan Roovers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2004, 11:16 AM   #17
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
I'm thinking about upgrading from Premiere 6.0 to PPro 1.5 when it hits the shelfs.. Do you think my computer with the following specs can hold up?

Win XP Pro SP1
Intel Pentium 4 2.0 GHz
Nvidia GeForce 3 Ti200 (64mb)
Dedicated editing hardware:
Pinnacle Edition DV500 DVD

(go to the link for info about DV500)

I am beginning to wonder whether this hardware actually boosts my workflow or not.. Is it perhaps a bit outdated? In other words, would my computer alone do a better job in your opinion?

edit: sorry for bringing up an old thread..
Andreas Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2004, 12:18 PM   #18
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543

You will not be able to use Premiere Pro with your DV500. Pinnacle has stopped supporting Premiere. They have stopped producing the driverís because they want to push their pinnacle liquid range of NLEs.

You can still use Premiere Pro on your system; it just means that you won't get the hardware support from your DV500 card. But then again PP has more real-time support than ever before, so you would probably not notice any difference. You will still need a firewire card to capture and playback in PP.

Your system should be OK. However you might want to upgrade your processor to something a bit larger. Adobe recommends a 3.0Ghz

Please see this link for adobes spec:

Hope this helps,
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web

For quick answers Search | The best in the business: Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2004, 01:24 PM   #19
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2
Ok, thanks a lot for the answer.
I didn't know that Pinnacle had stopped supporting Premiere.
It would have come as a shock and been a big disappointment to find that out afterwards, so thanks again.

Will the Matrox RT.X100 Xtreme Pro work with PP 1.5 and/or will it improve/lessen the editing capabilities of my pc?
Andreas Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2004, 12:11 PM   #20
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 114
Hey I have Premiere 6.0 and Premiere Pro running on the same computer and I have the DV500 card and I switch between the programs and it works just fine oh and your setup is totally fine. I don't know what most of these guys are talking about I've seen Premiere Pro run on a P3 1 Ghz comp with pc133 ram and it ran it fine
Kyle Kauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2004, 12:36 PM   #21
New Boot
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
I run premier pro 1.5 perfectly fine on my system.
P4 (2.4ghz) - 7200rpm seagate hd - 704mb dedicated RAM - 64mb video memory.
John O Brien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2004, 11:59 PM   #22
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: TN
Posts: 166
Yeah, I have a 2.66GHz P4, 160GB, 1GB Ram, it runs fine on my computer, not sluggish at all. I think what you lose and gain more in slower and faster systems is the rendering time, you won't notice a difference in your comptuer as much just editing, but rendering you will notice a time difference if you have a slower comptuer and such.
Tim Frank is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:40 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network