hdv to dvd at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 22nd, 2010, 07:05 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canberra Australia
Posts: 22
hdv to dvd

what is the best way of exporting a hdv timeline in cs5 to dvd to retain high quality?

I have tried dynamic link from cs5 to encore and transcoded then authored a dvd but i wasnt that impressed with the quality it seemed softer and not detailed enough what settings should i use?

I then tried export from cs5 to dvd mpeg 2 pass vbr set quality to 5 bitrate about 8 then import that in encore (no transcoding) and automatic transcode audio then authored another dvd and the quality seemed a little sharper but there was no sound what was i doing wrong?
Mark Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2010, 11:34 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Broken Bow, NE
Posts: 145
Here is the best workflow I have found for producing quality HDV to DVD in Premiere Pro CS5:

1. Create a new SD sequence in Premiere. If you're in NTSC land (North America, Japan and some other areas) this needs to be 720x480. In PAL (most of Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, and most of Western Europe), 720x576. Match the frame rate to that of your source footage (if it's a standard frame rate such as 60i or 24p NTSC or 50i PAL). Turn on "Maximum Render Quality".

2. Nest the finished HDV sequence into the SD sequence you just created.

3. Right click the nested sequence and choose "Scale to Frame Size".

I usually export directly from Premiere.

I recommend the following export settings using MPEG2-DVD: 2 pass VBR, target 6 mbps, max 8 mbps. You may need to adjust the bitrate, depending on the length of your video. Again, match the frame rate to that of your source footage. Important! Make sure that "Maximum Render Quality" is turned ON. Then go to the Multiplexer tab and select "None". Then to the Audio tab, select Dolby Digital as the audio format and use a Bitrate of 224 or so.

Your video and audio will be in separate files; insert both of them into a timeline in Encore.

For previous versions of Premiere, I recommend Dan Isaacs' HD2SD. Here is a tutorial by videographer Jeff Bullune.

Last edited by Mitch Hunt; August 23rd, 2010 at 12:08 PM.
Mitch Hunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2010, 02:39 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 38
for highest quality DVD you need to use lancosz resize filter through virtualdub or if you can afford it - cinema craft encoder( it digests .mov, .mp4, cineform .avi) and then convert straigt to mpeg-2. There is no editing softvare that does the quality like hollywood DVD titles. Very good, but expensive is cinema craft encoder. Premiere or. vegas editors( and most others) can do only very average job.
Mitja Popovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2010, 09:31 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canberra Australia
Posts: 22
Thanks Mitch i might try that

Mitja cinema craft encoder method sounds interesting but yes it is a bit expensive for my needs
Mark Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2010, 01:52 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Grass Valley ProCoder 3 does a great job for DVD transcode, costs much less than Cinema Craft, and rates nearly as high re final image quality.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2010, 02:27 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canberra Australia
Posts: 22
Mitch i have tried your workflow and i could really notice the difference colours were brighter the image was more crisp and clean simply brilliant!!!

thanks again for the advice
Mark Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2010, 02:30 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canberra Australia
Posts: 22
robert does ProCoder 3 work with win7 64? im not sure but it may have compatibility issues
Mark Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2010, 07:42 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
Procoder 3 works fine on my Win 7 x64 system. It's too bad that it can't link directly to PPro. Someone did try develop a frameserver for CS4 that worked with it (was it debugmode?), but it was unusably slow.
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2010, 09:35 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canberra Australia
Posts: 22
sd sequence

I think cs5 does a great job when down sizing from hd to sd and the results were good i did select deinterlace but the question is when Creating a new SD sequence for sd (pal land here) should i choose lower field first or deinterlace like i did before nesting the hd to sd?

Last edited by Mark Webb; August 26th, 2010 at 10:12 PM.
Mark Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 01:33 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Agree on Procoder 3. It's MPEG-2 DVD output is just hollywood like. You can still get great quality in low bitrate. I don't know about CS5, but the MainConcept MPEG engine in Cs3/4 is just horrible. Only get acceptable output in high bit rate.

I also setup WatchFolder to encode DVD compliant MPEG-2 file in 4 different bit rates. Then mix and match them to fill the DVD. Say like, for the highlights video, its' a frequently watched video, I picked a higher data rate file. For ceremony, there's not much motion and less watch, I picked a lower data rate format.

The way I setup the watch folder is, I create those folders. Then add shortcuts to these watch folders in Windows "Send To" menu. So when I need to transcode files, I hold the Windows Key and press the Alt Key once, while still holding the window key, right click on the AVI file, send select "Send to". In that case, a short cut of the AVI file will be copied to the Watch folder that triggers Procoder to start converting. Very convenience.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 02:26 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Webb View Post
robert does ProCoder 3 work with win7 64? im not sure but it may have compatibility issues
ProCoder 3 has an update (not recent at all) that I believe originally fixed compatability problems with Vista 64.
Using the updated version on my Win7 64 machine, I've had no problems.
__________________
Bob

Last edited by Robert Young; August 27th, 2010 at 11:36 AM.
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2010, 01:39 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
<<Creating a new SD sequence for sd (pal land here) should i choose lower field first or deinterlace like i did before nesting the hd to sd?>>

Mark, since you're going to DVD, it's better to use the same frame settings as the source, in your case interlaced. DVDs are usually interlaced, so it's no help to ask Premiere to de-interlace for you. Of course, if you shot progressive, keep those setings.
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2010, 04:04 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ithaca NY
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taky Cheung View Post
Agree on Procoder 3. It's MPEG-2 DVD output is just hollywood like. .
I'll second that. Hard to tell a DVD from a Blu ray when transcoded with Procoder.
Jay Jelliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2010, 07:20 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
There were a few moments I was watching the DVD and I thought it was bluray..
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:06 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network