EOS Movie Plugin-E!? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2010, 05:18 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
To work the plugin needs a .MOV & .THM file from a 1DMKIV 5DMKII or a 7D. The plugin reads the .THM file, (the file that gets generated when you record a movie file on these cameras) and then loads the clip. The time data is taken from the .THM file and not the clip but the clip length is taken from the .MOV file.

You can't use the plugin on the 550D cameras it will throw an error. You can fool the plugin to use the .MOV from the 550D camera, by using a .THM from a supported camera and then change the name. Whilst this will let the clip show up in the transfer window the thumbnail will be incorrect as this comes from the .THM file and the time data will also be incorrect. (The clip length will be correct).

It's a shame they could not have added the 550D to the list.

You don't have to have a card in the reader for the transfer to work, you just need a folder called 'DCIM' then inside that folder you could have sub folders of 'CARD1', 'CARD2' and so on. As long as the .MOV and .THM files are present they will sown in the transfer window. Handy when on a shoot and dumping the contents of the cards in order.

The plugin works like a charm, its good to have a transfer window back. Simple things like marking the in and out points make a lot of difference. And I like the ability the plugin has to change the name of the file to show the date and time.

Great job.

James
James Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 05:28 PM   #17
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London
Posts: 9
Hmm, as it is using compressor to do the encoding any chance it can be configured to use my qmaster cluster?

Nick
Nick Papworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 05:37 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Anyone have any luck on Leopard 10.5.8 instead of 10.6.2?
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 05:41 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Miller View Post
You don't have to have a card in the reader for the transfer to work, you just need a folder called 'DCIM' then inside that folder you could have sub folders of 'CARD1', 'CARD2' and so on.
You also need to have DCIM contained within a directory or drive as you have to select it's parent folder.

Using the Canon EOS Movie plugin-E1 with Final Cut Pro | Paul Joy
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 05:44 PM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Joy View Post
You also need to have DCIM contained within a directory or drive as you have to select it's parent folder.
Yes but it only needs to be, say on the desktop and it will find it or in a job folder and just select that enclosing folder.
James Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 05:47 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chapman View Post
Anyone have any luck on Leopard 10.5.8 instead of 10.6.2?
Yes works fine, have you run into a problem?
James Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 05:56 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Thanks James,

I'm about to be back to try it out. I was just reading Canon's PDF where it claimed that you needed 10.6.2 or higher.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 07:06 PM   #23
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Does the new plugin work with the new Canon Rebel T21 (550D).
As it doesn't seem to recognize the clips on the card.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 07:09 PM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
I can confirm that the plug in works with 7D and 5DII footage, but not with my T2i footage.
That's what I have found out. Log and Transfer sees the card just fine, but my files are not imported.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 12:41 AM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 50
Installed the plug-in and it works great with my 5D Mark II. Very cool and quick. Love it.
__________________
http://www.CredencePictures.com
Randy Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 08:19 AM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 50
I haven't found in the EOS FCP Plugin where to make the .dmg backup of a CF card. The instructions that came with the plugin don't specify where that option is. Any direction is most appreciated.
__________________
http://www.CredencePictures.com
Randy Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 10:58 AM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bethel, VT
Posts: 824
Randy, you use Disk Utility for that. I believe that's in the E-1 info but it's very simple. Open Disk Utility go to File>New>Disk Image from (Select a Device).

That's it. You can make a DMG of a folder and it's contents as well, just choose the first option under File>New

Also make sure you go to preferences in the E-1 window and choose your Pro Res option. It defaults to 4444 which is way too large a file size and unnecessary for this footage. Most will use straight 422.
Jim Giberti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 02:16 PM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 50
Thanks Jim. I don't know how I totally missed that. :) I appreciate the help.
__________________
http://www.CredencePictures.com
Randy Durham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 03:43 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 167
T2i Plugin Works!

To get the FCP EOS Plugin to work with T2i footage…


1. Install the new Canon EOS MOVIE Plugin-E1 for Final Cut Pro (http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...nloadDetailAct)

2. Go to Library/Application Support/ProApps/MIO/RAD/Plugins/CanonE1.RADPLug/Contents/Resources/

2. Open up cameras.plist

3. After the 7D info add the following lines of code (keeping to the coding structure):

<key>T2i</key>
<array>
<string>Canon EOS REBEL T2i</string>
</array>

4. Save the text file. Close it. Everything should work now.



DVXuser.com -- The online community for filmmaking - View Single Post - EOS MOVIE Plugin-E1 for Final Cut Pro Quick Start Guide
Stephen Mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 04:20 PM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Eureka, Ca
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erik Andersen View Post
Yes! The plugin works beautifully. This is great. If only there were a way to have MPEG Streamclip handle the transcoding (since it's faster than Compressor).
Why would you use streamclip when Pro res does a better job?

Why would you sacrifice quality to gain speed?
Geoff Brandon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network