Follow Focus for Canon XH - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 7th, 2008, 11:34 AM   #61
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
I found that adding a Follow Focus helps considerably. I use a friction wheel for the A1 lens when I'm not using an adapter and lens gears when I am.
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 05:03 AM   #62
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Thanks for your help Marcel

Do you know of a friction wheel that is compatible with the XHA1?
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 07:23 AM   #63
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Yes, I use the Follow Focus from IndiSYSTEM - Studio 4 Productions .

you can kind of see what it looks like here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/874257-post49.html
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 05:04 PM   #64
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Thanks again Marcel :)

I've never used a follow focus before. Do you need the rail system to mount the follow focus on?
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 06:13 PM   #65
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Yes, you do need a rail system. But, besides the Follow Focus, a rail system also gives you a way to mount matteboxes, handles / shoulder mount, even articulating arms for monitors. Also, later on if you decide to get a 35mm adapter, you already have a rail system to support the adapter. Indifocus also sels some reasonably priced rails.
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 06:25 PM   #66
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Thanks very much. I'll look into getting a rail and follow focus for my next production.

What size rail and which follow focus would you recommend?
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 09:10 PM   #67
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
If you're going to use the follow focus directly on the A1 then indifocus is the only company that I know of that makes a friction wheel for a universal control. You might do a google search to see if you can find others. I have to say that once you get used to using the follow focus, it does spoil you...at least it did me. I don't use anything in auto mode. everything is manual.
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 10:16 PM   #68
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Or you could just change the sensitivity setting in the menu.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2008, 10:25 PM   #69
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
That's a good suggestion and might improve the response a bit if you haven't tried that already (I made the assumption that you did...probably erroneously). See if that satisfies your focus puller. It could save you some $$. My understanding is that most "focus pullers" prefer the FF though.
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 03:00 AM   #70
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Unfortunately I've already tried changing the sensitivity in the custom setup but the focusing is still too sensitive and jumpy. I think the FF is the way to go.
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 06:57 AM   #71
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart Graham View Post
Unfortunately I've already tried changing the sensitivity in the custom setup but the focusing is still too sensitive and jumpy. I think the FF is the way to go.
So how is adding a cheap friction follow focus going to change things?
The sensitivity will still be the same, it will just be controlled from 3 inches away.

I'd say give your AC some practice time to get better aquatinted with the camera.
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 07:40 AM   #72
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
it's all in the ratio of the follow focus gear to the lens gear. If you use a small ff gear then it will take a more turning (i.e., slower response) to move the focus ring a certain distance than if you use a larger ff gear...then the focus ring will move faster.

In the case of the friction wheel, at least to me, that ratio to the A1 lens seems to work very well. I guess it's a matter of preference though. Unfortunately, the friction wheel only comes in one size so you can't change the ratio.
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 07:47 PM   #73
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbank, CA 91502
Posts: 946
You can't put a FF ring on the A1 or G1 because the instant auto focus module blocks it. If you want a FF, you'll need to get XL H1a or H1s.

Jim Martin
Birns & Sawyer Inc
"At the ArcLight"
Jim Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 11:12 PM   #74
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Martin View Post
You can't put a FF ring on the A1 or G1 because the instant auto focus module blocks it. If you want a FF, you'll need to get XL H1a or H1s.

Jim Martin
Birns & Sawyer Inc
"At the ArcLight"
Yes, actually you can. I have one. you don't need the FF gear. It uses a rubber friction wheel against the A1's focus ring without a gear. Works pretty well.

You can sort of see it here on my camera: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/874257-post49.html

Last edited by Marcel D. Van Someren; December 11th, 2008 at 07:57 AM.
Marcel D. Van Someren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 07:21 AM   #75
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Marcel, I'm going to ask some really silly questions here...

Should I get the 12", 18" or 30" (deluxe) IndiSYSTEM rail for my XH A1?

Does the Shrigg Rig make the camera upside down for some reason? Do I need one of those?

There are four different IndiFOCUSpro follow focuses - normal, geared, geared deluxe and geared ultimate. Which one should I get?

Thanks!
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network