Do you guys use image stabilizer when filming handheld? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2010, 08:36 AM   #16
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,066
"The windows were "floating" around . Is it due to the Image stabilization?"

Yes, the camerastabilisation is trying to correct for the movement you make and on a tripod that is not something you want. I notice this very clearly on my Canon xh-a1 if I leave ois on when on a tripod, if I do a pan movement when zoomed in and when I stop panning the camera tries to correct after that and I see the image move, eventhough the camera is standing still.

If you don't want that "floating movement" you need to turn ois off when on a tripod.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 10:05 AM   #17
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Milford NH
Posts: 15
thanks !!

thanks for clarifying that.

I *think* you have saved me from a major mistake this coming saturday.

I SO appreciate it.
Nancy Fleming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 07:11 PM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
IS is still useful in certain tripod shots though. For example, if you have a locked down shot at full telephoto, it is quite common to see some wobble in the image due to the tripod not being perfectly rigid, or maybe when the tripod is standing on a flexible surface like a wooden floor. The IS helps in these cases to reduce camera shake.

But I agree that if you need to pan the camera, the IS is usually better switched Off.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2010, 07:41 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus Harrington View Post
On the A1s I assigned one of the custom buttons to switch OIS on/off - the other custom button is for Zebras. This is very helpful when going from Tripod to Handled as you can activate or deactivate with the touch of a button - no need to dig in the menu for it.
how do you assign the OIS to the custom buttons, I don't see it on the list of options ?
Michael Ojjeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2010, 01:29 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Noosa Queensland Australia
Posts: 236
Can't do it on the A1.

It's an option on the A1S.
Bill Watson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network