Camera not working! - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2007, 04:48 PM   #31
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 209
Look in the custom functions, you can turn it off.
__________________
Stefan Scherperel
SSE Productions
http://www.stefweb.net
Stefan Scherperel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 07:32 PM   #32
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
That was one of the first things I did, turn that off.
A few days ago I ran into that problem with the little lock switch. I had been doing a lot of handheld and moving around, putting the camera down, picking it up, etc., and the record button would do nothing. I figured I had flipped something accidentally, but it too, me a gut-wrenching moment to remember that switch. Good thing somebody on here had mentioned it a couple of weeks ago; otherwise I could have panicked.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 09:06 PM   #33
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Hansen
not a problem at all, this happens when you leave the camera in standby without recording or touching anything, the camera automatically "shutsdown" somewhat of a battery saver or something, this happens to me all the time when on shoots, I think it's after like 5 min. or something it will do this. To change it you must switch the switch/lock thing to lock and then back to standby to "turn it on". Sure would be nice if they made a way to turn it off like I could on my good ole GL-2. If anyone else has found out how to turn it off let me know!!!

Eric Hansen
www.ehansenproductions.com
Yeah, Bill, I completely freaked out for a night. I had a feeling though that I was being duped by the camera.

Thanks for the tips Eric & Stefan.
Kevin Bayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 10:20 AM   #34
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
Problems Powering UP... HELP-SOS

I just bought the A1 a couple of days ago and I can't power it up today. I used it last night while getting used to it with no problems.

Today I was going to do the same and I can't get it to power it on. It powers on as VCR but not as camera.

Please if anyone has an answer I'll appreciate it. I have two jobs Saturday with a total of 6 HD cameras.

EDIT: I found my answer

I had the LOCK ON instead of STANDBY

I am new to CANON. I love the Image. Even my new HV20 is beautiful.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com

Last edited by Douglas Villalba; April 26th, 2007 at 10:27 AM. Reason: Found my own answer
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2007, 03:13 PM   #35
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Do not feel bad - you are not the first person to post that question (and answer).
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 09:20 AM   #36
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 77
HELP! A1 wont turn on in any record mode, but will in playback mode.

Just like the title says. I am packing to drive up to Atlanta today for a shoot and I check my cam and find out its not turning on in any playback mode. It will, however, turn on in in VCR or EXT CONN mode.

What could be wrong!?! This is a freshly charged battery!
Adam La Prade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 09:27 AM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 209
Your standby switch is flipped.
__________________
Stefan Scherperel
SSE Productions
http://www.stefweb.net
Stefan Scherperel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 09:44 AM   #38
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 77
The LOCK switch was not engaged (i thought it might be). The same behavior happens weather or not the LOCK is engaged.
Adam La Prade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 11:33 AM   #39
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 77
Whoops, looks like that was a typo. I meant to say: It works in playback mode but does NOT work in and recording mode.

I'm typing this from a cell phone so its a little confusing...sorry! :p
Adam La Prade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 12:09 PM   #40
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
The previous posts indicate the answer to your problem.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 03:19 PM   #41
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 77
Fair enough. I'm on the road right so I can check this moment, but is there another "standby" switch I don't know about with the excepton of the LOCK switch on the top left on the handle?
Adam La Prade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 03:25 PM   #42
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brakel, Belgium
Posts: 64
Yeah, it's part of the recordbutton that's NOT on the handle. It's a Standby/Lock-switch which you can turn.
Located at the back of the camera - near the tapecompartment.
Paul Lashmana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 06:22 PM   #43
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 77
The 2nd switch wasn't engaged, but after fiddling with it for a few mins it finally turned on...if it happens again, I might have to get it looked at.

Thanks guys for all your help!
Adam La Prade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 07:14 PM   #44
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam La Prade View Post
The 2nd switch wasn't engaged, but after fiddling with it for a few mins it finally turned on...if it happens again, I might have to get it looked at.

Thanks guys for all your help!
Yah, must have been the switch.
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2007, 03:41 AM   #45
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 157
Disaster Strikes! My poor A1...

Okay, so I was on a shoot and some construction crew was cutting some pavement about 30 ft. away all of a sudden the "concrete dust cloud" started to blow right into my camera. I covered it up with this tarp thing i had but it was by no means airtight. The dust kept blowing over it for about 10 or 15 minutes but the camera kept working fine. Then about 30 mins later when i went to check some of the footage i turned the cam to vcr mode and when i tried to turn it back to record mode it wouldn't turn on. The cam works fine in vcr mode but none of the recording modes work (no lights turn on or anything). I'm guessing the dust did something but am not sure why it only stopped working once i turned it off the first time. Has anybody ever had anything like this happen? I'm hoping i'm just being a dunce and there is some button i've flipped or something that is screwing it up but i know this is wishful thinking...
Cal Bickford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network