audio question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon XL2 / XL1S / XL1 and GL2 / XM2 / GL1 / XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 26th, 2006, 09:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
audio question

I need help asap! We film tonight and we are having trouble with the audio. We are using the XLR inputs, in channel one we have the boom mic and in channel two we have a lav. The problem is that it is only picking up the boom mic, but it's picking it up in both channels! Even when the lav isn't plugged into channel two! What's the deal? Anyone have any ideas?
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2006, 11:02 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Open the Audio Controls panel on the left side of the XL2 body. Locate the Rec. Ch. Select switch, just above the Channel 1 volume control knob. I'll bet you a six-pack of Shiner Bock that it's set to the Ch1 - Ch2 position. Move it to the Ch 1 position. Problem solved.

If this doesn't fix it, report back.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2006, 07:32 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 61
A little OT, but what the hell.

That's funny that you mentioned Shiner Bock. I have a friend from Austin that introduced me to that beer, and it's quite good.
__________________
-----------------------------------
XL2: power to go, quality to impress
Andy Joyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2006, 08:06 PM   #4
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 795
Chris,

Could you give me some audio advice? I received the camera yesterday and did a CAR SHOW shoot. I adjusted the saturation and RED AND BLUE to look like a SONY. I understand everything but the audio.

HOWEVER, I find the audio VERY confusing, unlike any of my other cameras both PRO and CONSUMER.

Question: I want the front microphone audio on Channel ONE and REAR XLR microphone on Channel two. I currently have audio on 16 bit which may account for why I can not seperate the sound. I either get full audio from the front or full audio from the rear, but not a mix.

Thanks,
LOU



Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd
Open the Audio Controls panel on the left side of the XL2 body. Locate the Rec. Ch. Select switch, just above the Channel 1 volume control knob. I'll bet you a six-pack of Shiner Bock that it's set to the Ch1 - Ch2 position. Move it to the Ch 1 position. Problem solved.

If this doesn't fix it, report back.
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2006, 09:48 PM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lou Bruno
I want the front microphone audio on Channel ONE and REAR XLR microphone on Channel two.
Hi Lou,

The problem is, the front mic (if it's the one that came with the camera) is a stereo mic, and therefore it always requires two channels. Anyway here's how to work around it.

Explained here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?p=503963

And here: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?p=509012

Hope this helps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Joyce
A little OT, but what the hell. That's funny that you mentioned Shiner Bock.
Shiner Bock is never Off Topic around here!
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 07:40 AM   #6
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 795
Thanks.................................
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2006, 01:10 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
I guess I owe you a 6pack! You are a lifesaver!!!
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 05:49 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: norman, OK
Posts: 111
This may sound stupid, but having it set to ch1 instead of ch1-ch2 will still record both channels right? I guess I don't understand what the difference is between ch1 and ch1-ch2. I thought the ch1 setting would only record ch1 and the other would record both. I'm assuming that isn't the case.
Jonathan Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2006, 06:19 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Healdsburg, California
Posts: 1,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Grant
This may sound stupid, but having it set to ch1 instead of ch1-ch2 will still record both channels right? I guess I don't understand what the difference is between ch1 and ch1-ch2. I thought the ch1 setting would only record ch1 and the other would record both. I'm assuming that isn't the case.

That is not the case. Basically, and for lack of a better explanation, each channel represents a field of the stereo spread. Ch 1 is the left field, and Ch 2 is the right field. If you are just using the on-board mic (which is a stereo mic) it will automatically record onto both channels of the stereo spread and provide a stereo (l + r) representation of the source material. Other audio inputs however, like mono microphones will plug into just one input and record a mono signal to only one side of that stereo field. This allows the user to have more control over each of the independent inputs and also allows for the input of up to four indendent audio sources (if one so desires) and utilize a decent amount of control over each one. In post, each channel will reside on the extreme left and right of the stereo fields. Typically, for mono sources, these fields are then centered in post (or whereever in the field the producer wishes them to be.)

So the CH1 switch definately is what it indicates. It will send the signal only to the ch 1 signal. The Ch1 > Ch2 switch is among other things a convenience factor for duping the ch1 input to both sides of the stereo field so that it is already centered as a center field mono signal.

Although I have not tried this to be sure, I imagine it also might be possible to send the input to both channels, but use manual input control to have two separate input levels so that you have two options on the clipping level of one incoming source - if one level gets two hot, you can have a lower level input setting on the other channel as a backup in case on ch distorts. But as I said, I haven't tried this as I don't know if the Ch1>Ch2 switch also dupes the Ch1 manual settings to Ch2.

Hope this helps.
-Jon
__________________
"Are we to go on record, sir, with our assertion that the 'pink hearts, yellow moons, orange stars, and green clovers' are, in point of fact', magically delicious?"
- Walter Hollarhan before the House Subcommittee on Integrity in Advertising - May, 1974
Jonathan Jones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network