Error Compiling Movie: Unknown Error at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 23rd, 2009, 07:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
Error Compiling Movie: Unknown Error

Hello, I've been using Adobe Premiere Pro w/ CS3 and Cineform (via AspectHD 5.3) for several months now and haven't had any problems--until now. Every time I try to render a sequence (not even trying to export here), I get the following error: "Error Compiling Movie: Unknown Error". I have plenty of disk space (238Gigs) and the sequence is only 14 minutes long.

I tried searching in the forums here but the search feature seems to be broken. Any suggestions?
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 09:22 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
I get this all the time. Usually a reboot solves it, but if not, try importing the sequence into a new project -- sort of generic slap upside the head whenever Premiere goes off on you for no reason.

If that doesn't work you might have a corrupt clip.

Have you recently updated either Premiere or Aspect?
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 10:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
Yeah, I've rebooted a 1/2 dozen times already and that's not doing the trick. How exactly do I import an existing sequence into a new project? I've already tried exporting as an .edl and importing that into a new project, to no avail. Is there some other way?
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 10:44 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Create a new Project. Go to File > Import and find the old project, double-click.

A new sequence will show up in you project panel. Expand it and it should look just like the old project. Double click the sequence and it should be right on your timeline.

I think that's close. I'm doing this from memory as my editing PC is in the shop for like the ninth time....
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 11:01 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
Good suggestion, but it didn't help.
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2009, 11:11 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Hm. So possibly a corrupt asset or a bad install of a recent update, if you've done any. You're just trying to render a preview? You could try deleting all your preview renders, I suppose.

Any complicated effects involved, especially in unrendered areas? How many video/audio tracks? How many clips? Titles? Project settings? File types? Added any audio drivers or new codecs lately? System specs? Other software running, including anti-virus or a live Internet connection? Screen-saver and power-down settings disabled?

Might be time for a support call to Cineform, or maybe their knowledgebase has something about this... as might Adobe's.

Search here appears to be working -- here are some related threads.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/cineform-...own-error.html

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/cineform-...nking-p4k.html

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/cineform-...ere-2-0-a.html

No solutions but lots of clues. Seems to be memory-related.

What Aspect and CS3 builds are you using?
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2009, 02:55 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
I'm on build 119 and CS3 3.2.0. I did recently install After Effects Trial version and had to re-install AspectHD to get AE to export properly. Not sure if that's the wrench thrown in or not.

Also, My audio conform files are all on the main hard drive with the OS and PPro, and they're eating up alot of space--from a 250gig down to a 40gig drive at the moment. don't know if that would cause a problem or not either.

Also just submitted a ticket with Cineform.
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2009, 03:22 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodinville, WA USA
Posts: 3,464
Build 131 is the latest (and final) update for Aspect. You might consider trying that -- maybe there's a bug somewhere in your version. And your file location is probably not helping, although it may not be the actual cause.

There's actually quite a lot of info about optimizing your system to reduce crashes on the Adobe help site. You might want to go down their checklist -- there isn't a fussier program in the world than Premiere.

Last edited by Adam Gold; January 24th, 2009 at 05:09 PM.
Adam Gold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2009, 08:15 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
I'll check into the latest build. I haven't had any major problems with Premiere/Cineform in a long while. Actually, once I had everything installed and configured correctly, it's been a pretty reliable system. Bear in mind I do a reboot usually once a day to ensure the best stability. This error though is stumping me. Hopefully Cineform support will have some answers for me as well.
William Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2009, 09:10 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
I meant to post this earlier, but the update to AspectHD 5.4 solved the problem.
William Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network