Neo Scene audio synch loss on 5D2 footage... help? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 5th, 2009, 04:36 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Neo Scene audio synch loss on 5D2 footage... help?

Love Neo Scene, and have used it happily for my 5D2 footage. Until now, I've only been shooting 30 second clips, or clips where I don't need the sound. Today is the first time I've started converting 5+ minute long clips. By the 3 minute mark, the sound is definitely off. By the 5 minute mark, the sound is at least a 1/2 second ahead of the picture.

Tried it in Low/Med/High quality, and also with the 3 different frame output options, no difference.

So...

Help? :)

Details:
Neo Scene V1.1.2
WinXP
Vegas Pro 8
Canon 5D markII
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 04:47 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That was fixed months ago. We are on Neo Scene version 1.3.5 now.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 05:10 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
I take a few months off to move and travel... AND YOU RELEASE NEW VERSIONS WITHOUT ME?

Sniff...

.
.
.
J/K... I forgot how fast you actually fix and update stuff, I should have checked the Cineform site first. :)
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 05:42 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Hey Dylan, there is a whole new world of 5D out there, check out the Magic Lantern thread and did you catch Canon upgrade of firmware to include manual at beginning of June ?.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 06:37 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
That was fixed months ago. We are on Neo Scene version 1.3.5 now.
Uh oh.... I did the update and while it's much better, the sound is still off for sure after the 5 minute mark, probably less that a 1/4 second, but still off. I checked the originals to make sure it wasnt them.

Thoughts on this?


Chris, I'm still getting up to speed on the Magic Lantern, but will have it soon!
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 07:07 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Make sure you are running 29.97 timeline, not 30.0p. With the number of 5D users we have, we know this has been solved.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 08:43 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
So, to make sure I'm not insane and it isn't a timeline/framerate issue, I dropped the following three clips on the timeline:

1: The original clip, straight from the camera.
2: The Cineform render of the same clip.
3: The Zoom H4n audio of the same scene, synched to sound.

The original is 5:27:24
The Cineform audio is 19 frames behind at this point. The weird thing, is that the video is behind too... but by 8 frames, so neither the audio, nor the video, synch with the original.
The Zoom audio is in synch with the original.

I did download v1.3.5, and when I load it, it says v1.3.5... is there any chance it could still be loading my old version? Though I thought it was better after the update, it doesn't look like the problem has changed.

I appreciate the help (and patience, because it's probably something really simple that I'm doing wrong. :) )
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 08:56 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Dylan:

Did you unistall the old version first ? You are supposed to deintsatall and then install the new version. Your system will keep the registration information, but you have to completely uninstall the old version. This is so too, for any other version of Cineform like Neo HDV. If I ever want to reinstall my version of NeoHDV, I still can, but you cannot have toth installed at same time.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 09:30 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Did you reconvert you source? The MOV source and the new AVI master are not supposed to match exactly, as the camera does the weird 30.0p (which is basically wrong) and we fix that and remodulate to 29.97, fixing the audio to match. This was all discussed several months ago. New converts will be 0.1% slower so that standard export don't have frame blends (which happens for many using 30.0 to 29.97 export formats like BlurRay, DVD, etc.) If you start with fresh 5D source convert those, the converted video and audio will be in sync and at a standard frame rate of 29.97.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 10:29 PM   #10
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Chris, good suggestion. I uninstalled NeoScene and reinstalled. No difference.

David, I re-rendered new .avis from the original .movs. After the five minute clip, the Cineform audio is still 19 frames behind the master audio track, and also still looks a few frames out of synch with itself. I'm going to set the camera to record a 10 minutes clip with a/v synch marks, and retest this. Will report back.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2009, 10:56 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You need to talk to support, if you are sync issue in the AVI (not against the MOV as that is at a different frame rate.) However, if you master audio track was a secondary source, that is something else entirely, than you need Neo HD. Neo Scene is for hobbiest, where is 29.97 defaults are hardwired, not an issue (a big help really), unless you are doing dual system sound (typically not a hobbiest thing.) Rememeber 30 and 29.97 are different frame rate, your can't be sync sources with different clocks. In Neo HD and Prospect HD you choose the speed-up or down you need to match sources.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 12:09 AM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Hey David
I shot a test clip on the 5D2, 10 minutes long, with synch points along the way.
By the 10 minute mark, the Cineform footage was 1/2 second out of synch with itself, with the video faster than the audio. For example, a slate clap would happen, then roughly 15 frames later the sound would hit. Regardless of my 5D2 source material (which is in synch until the end), this shouldn't happen, right?

Plus it is still a full second behind both the native 5D2 mov and the source audio recording (which is still in synch with the source .mov even at the end)

Thanks again for the help!


(also, Neo HD is out of the budget, so if I can't figure out what's wrong, it's back to synching it all by hand)
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 12:21 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I will run a test right now. I have not been doing a lot of narrative stuff lately, so I will check your results Dylan with my gear and a 5 minute clip.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 12:39 AM   #14
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Cool, thanks Chris!
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2009, 01:24 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
David:

Dylan is right. We are not synching again. I am about 9 frames off at 5:44 of a six minute or so clip. At least in Vegas 9.

The attached Snipping of the time line show how project is set up. The time indicator is at point of clapper coming together. Note the sound is nine frames down about. I assume those are frame ticks.

Edit: After posting, I checked in at Vegas 8, same issues there.
Attached Thumbnails
Neo Scene audio synch loss on 5D2 footage... help?-timelineoff.jpg  
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos

Last edited by Chris Barcellos; August 6th, 2009 at 02:01 AM.
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network