Histograms won't turn off after using the option in First Light at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 15th, 2009, 06:13 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Voorheesville, NY
Posts: 433
Histograms won't turn off after using the option in First Light

I was using First Light for one avi file and I "discovered" the histogram check box, which worked great. Unfortunately, then all my CFHD avi and mov files played back in all software (not just FL) with the histogram turned on (!). The only exception was Vegas x64, so I'm guessing that it is some setting in the decoder. I'm using Prospect HD build 224 and Vista x64.

Now to fix the problem, I went back into FL, opened a random CFHD file. The histogram checkbox was off in FL by default, but the file played, showing the histogram. I checked, then unchecked the histogram box. The histogram disappeared, not only with the random file loaded in FL, but for all CFHD files.
Jay Bloomfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2009, 06:54 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That is they way it is supposed to work. :) All the checkboxes in the middle section near the timecode display are global controls, impacting all clips. White Balance and Looks, etc. are masks, turning those treaments on or off globally. Histogram is the same.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2009, 02:12 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
I've been perplexed by the same issue with the histogram.
If the check boxes effect all clips globally, then it stands to reason that they should all be unchecked if you want the FL settings to be applied only to the clips you've imported & treated.
Is this correct??
Also, I'm not sure what the "synch" and "always synch" controls do exactly.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network