Convert 60i to 23.976 in Aspect at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 13th, 2006, 11:35 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spokane, Wa.
Posts: 445
Convert 60i to 23.976 in Aspect

Is this done with HDlink or within Premiere Pro 2? How?

Thanks
Mike
Michael Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 12:17 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is done in HDlink. If you select Remove 3-2 pull-down and deinterlace within HDLink, you will get a 23.976p output that is quite effective.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 08:12 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spokane, Wa.
Posts: 445
Thanks David!

Mike
Michael Stewart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 07:09 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
I see there is an option to de-interlace 1080i footage in Aspect 4.21 from within Premiere Pro 2 now (don't know how long it has been there). Does it work? Do I setup a 24p PPRO 2.0 project before capturing?

How do the results compare to MB or Vegas (other than being much faster I would hope).

Thanks.
__________________
Canon C100, 5D3

Last edited by Jeff Baker; September 24th, 2006 at 01:07 PM.
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 11:17 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I would hope it worked if we put it there. :)

You can setup a 23.976p or 24p project before or after capture.

Yes it is much faster. You will need to decide for yourself which deinterlace look you prefer.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 01:00 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
Yes I like the feature very much. Thank-you. And the results look very good.
However, when I bring the footage into AE, it auto intreprets it as 29.97.

How can I confirm that it worked? I don't know a quick way to see if there are 2 fields or 1 progressive.
__________________
Canon C100, 5D3
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 01:11 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It should have report 23.976, if you checked pulldown removal as well, the wise for deinterlace only you will get 29.97p. However, interlaced vs progressive should be visually obvious when setting the display to 100% -- interlaced fields shouldn't be visible.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 01:41 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
http://www.threegeese.com/cineform1.png

I have an FX1, so I just checked the de-interlace 1080i footage box. I don't remember if I changed Frame menu from the default of Automatic or Progressive.
__________________
Canon C100, 5D3
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 02:23 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You want to select Remove Sony CF24 pulldown (this was supposed to be renamed like it is in HDLink.) The 3-2 pulldown removal and deinterlace used together will get you 24p. If you know you want progressive, you can switch "automatic" to "progressive", although the deinterlace option will set a progressive encoding format.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 02:52 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
I think I getting to the point now.
I shot this footage in the standard 60i hdv mode on the sony fx1 not the 24 Frame mode.

So am I ending up with 30P?

Is this check box only for footage shot using the camera's CF24 setting?

Sorry I'm still so confused about this. I perfer to shoot at 60i with this camera and then I need a fast way to get it to 24P for editing (I don't like the CF24 mode).
__________________
Canon C100, 5D3
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 02:57 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Jeff,

I agree with your workflow. We have just reused the CF24 pulldown removal check box, in combination with the deinterlace control to turn 60i into 24p. Give it a try. This works on regular 60i source material.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 10:24 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
Great working! Thanks!

Only thing, when I try to export a still frame I get a green frame instead of the picture. How do I get around this?
__________________
Canon C100, 5D3
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 10:37 PM   #13
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Jeff, is it related to this thread? I don't know what you mean.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 01:26 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 184
I don't know if capturing stills is related to this issue or more general. Exporting a still frame as a BMP or TIFF is not working for me with the 24P HDV project that I created using the settings posted in this thread. I will try a 30i project and see if I get different results.

I end up with a green still frame instead of the picture in Premiere. When I opened the same 24p file in Vegas I was able to copy frames to the clipboard and open them in photoshop, so it is a premiere issue or a project settings issue in premeire.
__________________
Canon C100, 5D3
Jeff Baker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network