quicktime issues with Aspect HD5? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 10th, 2007, 01:59 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
quicktime issues with Aspect HD5?

I opened a project created using aspect 4 and it fails to recognize my HD quicktime files that are in it? This can't be right. The files are marked as being offline and when I when I tried to mark them as on-line it says non-supported format or file is damaged. These are in Quicktime animation codec and 1920x1440. Worked fine in Aspect 4. Anyone?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 02:36 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Make sure you are using Aspect HD 5.0.1.82
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 02:45 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Make sure you are using Aspect HD 5.0.1.82
I just checked and it is definitely the latest version that I have installed. It is only the trial, even though I own aspect HD 4.3 .

I tried importing quicktime HD files into a non-cineform preset and it still kicks it out. So I uninstalled Aspect 5 and rebooted and it now accepts quicktime HD files again. So I can say with 100% certainty that something that Aspect HD is doing is causing Premiere Pro 2.0 to not accept Quicktime HD files anymore....even when choosing a standard Adobe HD preset. I just updated quicktime and rebooted and still no go. Hoping there is a quick fix otherwise I guess I'll submit a trouble ticket.

Thanks,
Marty
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 03:13 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
I unisntalled AspectHD 5 and Premiere Pro imports HD quicktime files again. I then reinstalled aspect HD 5 and it won't. I uninstalled again and went back to Aspect 4.3 and it is working normally again.

I submitted a trouble ticket through the Cineform site and hope someone can help. This is just weird.

Marty
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 05:58 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is a bug that has been fixed which I thought was in build 82. If not it will be in the next build. You can just remove the CFQTImporter.prm component from Premiere's plug-ins folder to get MOV functions under AHD v5.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 08:24 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
It is a bug that has been fixed which I thought was in build 82. If not it will be in the next build. You can just remove the CFQTImporter.prm component from Premiere's plug-ins folder to get MOV functions under AHD v5.
Thanks! I will try that and it will at least let me see if there are any performance advantages to aspect 5 in Premiere Pro.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 08:32 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
More quality advantages than performance upgrades.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 09:20 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
More quality advantages have performance upgrades.

huh???? I'm not sure what you are saying. Can you clarify?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 10:03 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Aspect HD v5 has many enhancements but speed was already pretty good so we didn't focus on that. Many bonuses HDSDI/HMDI injest, Qiucktime support for wider compatibility and a new codec engine for higher quliaty.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 10:08 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
I see you edited your original post and it makes perfect sense now too.

So does Aspect HD only support AJA or would any SDI card do the trick? I have an XL-H1 and as of now, I do too much field recording to make use of the SDI output. However I do look forward to the day that I can ingest it using Aspect HD. What exactly do I need? Barebones....absolute minimum?

Thanks.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 10:15 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Any Blackmagic Decklink card or AJA Xena card will work through HDLink for 1440x1080 capture. You should seriously consider Prospect HD for and XL-H1 as it will show the benefits of 1920x1080 live capture. For Prospect HD we recommend the AJA Xena line as you can also timeline monitor with them.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network