Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2011, 05:56 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

I've got the nanoFlash set up for pushing its record button--knowing there's no tc. When I record on the Canon--the nanoFlash says it's awaiting signal... I've tried all of the variations of power up nano first, then camera and visa versa...

What am I doing wrong?

HV30 is in 1440x1080i setting. The post(s) that I have read say the nano will actually record 1920x1080.
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 08:41 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Dear Mike,

Sorry for the delay in responding, i have been traveling all day.

Do you have System|Source set to HDMI?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 09:37 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Yes, hdmi is selected.
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 05:16 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Dear Mike,

Do ou have access to an HDMI TV?

If so, using a different cable, can you see the video on the TV.?

Did you buy a nanoFlash bundled and are using the cable that came with the bundle? I am trying to determine if you are using a quality HDMI cable.

Is the cable plugged into the HDMI Input, the one on the right of the nanoFlash?

I will be trraveling this morning.

Could you please call our support team?

Support Contacts | Convergent Design
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 07:04 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

I've tried 2 hdmi cables--one was from the nanoFlash bundle.

I haven't connected the camera to the monitor yet, but if has been connected without issue in the past. Note that I cannot test the cables already mentioned because of the plug size: the HV30 has a full size hdmi and the nano is the smaller size. Of course the monitor is the standard size hdmi. The hdmi cable that was bundled is standard to miniature.
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 03:26 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Dear Mike,

If you use another cable, then connect to a television, then we will know that your camera is outputting video over HDMI.

Did you have a chance to call our support team?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 04:54 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Dan:

I've checked the output to a monitor, the camera is operating correctly. Is there any issue with the hdmi cable going from standard size to the smaller size?
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 06:46 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Dear Mike,

If you contact our support team, we could send you another Type A to Type C cable to test.

The problem could be the cable.

Are you plugging the cable into the HDMI In, the one on the right?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2011, 09:06 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

yes plugging in to the right port.
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2011, 12:41 PM   #10
Convergent Design
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 869
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Hi Mike-
Try doing a restore defaults (I think it's under the system menu). Then go back and reselect HDMI as your source. Maybe this will do the trick.
__________________
Mike Schell
Convergent Design
Mike Schell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2011, 05:29 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Thanks Mike, but it did not work. I tried restoring several times, and selecting hdmi, no soap.
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2011, 07:02 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Posts: 47
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Just hooked up the nanoFlash to my HDV deck and it recorded the tape playback--using the hdmi cable bundled with the nano.

So it looks like it doesn't like the output from the camera--though the camera outputs a hdmi signal to a monitor without a problem.

I thought the nano was tested with several of the Canon HV products?
Mike Bailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2011, 10:21 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Re: Can't get nanoFlash to see output of Canon HV30

Dear Mike,

The nanoFlash works very well with the HDMI output of a Canon HV20, HV30, HV40, etc.

In fact, we use an HV30 every day to feed nanoFlashes a signal during our manufacturing process.

We will be happy to test your nanoFlash.

Could you please call me so we can assist you?

My phone numbers are listed under my name, Dan Keaton, near the bottom of the page, in the following link:

Support Contacts | Convergent Design

Or you can email me by click on my name (and selecting the email option). If you provide me with a phone number and time to call, I will be happy to call you.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network