Put HD on a DVD and play it on HD DVD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2007, 01:11 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 249
Put HD on a DVD and play it on HD DVD

Quick trick....
You can take 20 minutes of HD footage...and author it to a standard DVD.
The Toshiba HD DVD players (and any other manufacturer of HD DVD players) will accept the DVDdisc....read the HD footage...and play it.

I've done it tonite...and tested it.

Here's what I did....

Took a 4 minute video..that was edited in our AVID Adrenaline HD. Exported it out as a 1920x1080 uncompressed QT movie.

Make a HD DVD in DVD Studio Pro....imported the QT movie. Studio Pro encoded the movie.

Burn the disc like normal. Play it in a HD DVD player. Voila !

I want to play with bit rates....but this worked well. Great for delivery of a HD project that is under 20 minutes. I assume if you "UP" the bit rate...the length of video you can put on the disc will decrease.

Has anyone tried this ??
Kevin Martorana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 07:55 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Altos Hills, CA, USA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Martorana View Post
Quick trick....
You can take 20 minutes of HD footage...and author it to a standard DVD.
The Toshiba HD DVD players (and any other manufacturer of HD DVD players) will accept the DVDdisc....read the HD footage...and play it.

I've done it tonite...and tested it.

Here's what I did....

Took a 4 minute video..that was edited in our AVID Adrenaline HD. Exported it out as a 1920x1080 uncompressed QT movie.

Make a HD DVD in DVD Studio Pro....imported the QT movie. Studio Pro encoded the movie.

Burn the disc like normal. Play it in a HD DVD player. Voila !

I want to play with bit rates....but this worked well. Great for delivery of a HD project that is under 20 minutes. I assume if you "UP" the bit rate...the length of video you can put on the disc will decrease.

Has anyone tried this ??
Nope, but I've just exported from Premiere Pro 2.0, mpeg2, 1920x1080 (i), imported the clip into Ulead DVD movie factory 5, exported it as a HD-DVD folder, and then written it to a standard DVD using Nero, then played it back as a HD-DVD on my XBox360 HD-DVD player.
Ron Haley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 02:12 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: WestChazy, NY
Posts: 291
What version of DVDSP are you using? I have been very unsuccessful making an HD-DVD that will play on my Toshiba HDa1 player. ALso I heard if you upgrade the HDDVD Firmware on the Toshiba to anything from the very first version it will not play a red laser HD-DVD. Do you know what firmware your Toshiba has?

When you say DVDSP encodes the movie, what are your settings? Is it possible it's encoding to SD, and your Toshiba is uprezing it to HD (which that player is great at)? What model Toshiba do you have?

I'm very excited over this but, like i said, I have not been able to get my player to make an HD-DVD made in DVDSP yet.
Paul Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 02:30 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rego Park , NYC
Posts: 649
The latest upgrade for DVD Studio Pro 4.1.2 finally fixes the compatibility issues with making HD DVDs on red laser DVD-R's.

[PC Users have had much better luck with the Ulead Movie Factory and Nero though...]

http://www.hdforindies.com/2007/03/h...oshiba-hd.html
John C. Chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2007, 07:30 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: WestChazy, NY
Posts: 291
No kidding? Thats GREAT news. I'm going to download the update now....
Paul Frederick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 03:24 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Weymouth, UK
Posts: 29
Are there any other (cheaper) authoring solutions on the Mac?
James Burland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2007, 03:41 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rego Park , NYC
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Burland View Post
Are there any other (cheaper) authoring solutions on the Mac?
I think for the Macintosh platform, that's it. [Though I would expect iDVD to add HD support sometime in the future]

I also hope third parties like Roxio will add HD DVD support in Toast at a more affordable price point.

If you have an Intel Mac and also running Windows...maybe it might be worth it to run ULeadMovie Factory.
John C. Chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2007, 05:55 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 51
You can also do this this with Pinnacle studio 10.7.

I do my capture/edit in Vegas then export to studio. I use a DL disk and drop the bitrate a little to 19000 (don''t really notice a quality drop) and this gives you about 50 minutes (plus DD5.1 sound). Studio sells for about $70 and the HD DVD plugin is an extra $50
George Anthonisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2007, 07:46 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
I use an Avel Linkplayer to playback mpeg transport streams directly from a DVD data disk. Which I use for HD playback at convention booths and projection media. If I have to cross the 20min barrier (for DVD capacity), then I use a 720p windows media file.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2007, 10:12 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: italy
Posts: 27
dear friends, it's really to put video hd on a dvd and play it on hd dvd ?????
if this is confirmed is wonderfull news. :-))))))))))))))))))))))))
the quality image is good ???

which bite rate advise for product a wonderfull quality image ????

i am waiting your help for product this file for burner to my standard dvd normal o dual layer

i use a camcorder sony hdv hc3 and nle sony vegas 7 which step i must follow for product the structure of hd dvd ???
i have the sw ulead dvd movie factory 6 plus i phink it build a structure of hd-dvd.
which is the correct procedure for burner file (hd dvd) ready with roxio 9 or nero burning rom ???
thanks a lot and sorry for my bad english.
marco
Marco Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2007, 12:30 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Rego Park , NYC
Posts: 649
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=705146

Marco,

I really like the above link. These guys have worked out all the issues with burning HD DVD on regular DVD.
John C. Chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2007, 02:08 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: italy
Posts: 27
your informations is fantastic thanks a lot !!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by John C. Chu View Post
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=705146

Marco,

I really like the above link. These guys have worked out all the issues with burning HD DVD on regular DVD.

your informations is fantastic thanks a lot !!!!!!!
gold informations !!!!!
:-))))))))
bye marco
Marco Levi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2007, 07:31 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C. Chu View Post
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=705146

Marco,

I really like the above link. These guys have worked out all the issues with burning HD DVD on regular DVD.

That's a pretty old method... it works but it's not the best. It does not do a good job at all with double layer disks. Pinnacle studio 10.7 is MUCH better
George Anthonisen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 11:39 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Do you know whether the Pinnacle Studio 10.7 method will work on UK Pal systems?
David Tyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2007, 08:00 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Tyler View Post
Do you know whether the Pinnacle Studio 10.7 method will work on UK Pal systems?
As far as I know , it does. I do know a few PAL users on the pinnacle board that have the HD DVD plugin and I have not heard any complaints from them, so I assume they're satisfied.
George Anthonisen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Distribution Center > DVD Authoring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network