Final Cut Pro and XDCAM EX -- various topics at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 10th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Final Cut Pro and XDCAM EX -- various topics

What FCP setting for editing 1080 30p footage?

I'm cutting my first show in Final Cut and have a question about logging clip info.

I'm wanting to know if there is some way to get the Clip Comments that I enter in the XDCam Transfer software (with Final Cut open and I used the Import/XDCam menu option) to come along with my clip.

In the XDCam Transfer software, there is a Source section and a Clip section, both have a comments field.

I've figured out that the Title can help you rename the .mov clip to something more human readable, but I'm also wanting the comments to come over as well into a comments field in my clip browser in Final Cut.

Is this possible?

NOTE: I found out that I hadn't pressed ENTER while in the Clip/Comment field. Once I did that, the comment transferred over to the Log Note in FCP just fine.

Thanks,

Jim
__________________
Reel Inspirations - www.reelinspirations.com
Commercials, Dramas, Image Pieces, Documentaries, Motion Graphics

Last edited by James Huenergardt; March 10th, 2009 at 06:01 PM. Reason: Figured it out on my own.
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 11:15 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Good to know. Thanks Jim! (I didn't know that Comments would transfer. I thought it was only the Clip name) Cool!
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 08:31 AM   #3
Sponsor: Abel CineTech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 360
Why not use the Log and Transfer plugin for FCP instead of XDCAM Transfer? I've heard XDCAM Transfer is faster but the Log and Transfer plugin keeps all of your logging info within your FCP project file.

Andy
__________________
Andy Shipsides -Camera Technology Specialist
AbelCineTech, New York - Visit our Blog - http://blog.abelcine.com
Andy Shipsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 08:30 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 157
I use Clip Browser before importing to FC. Then I can delete bad clips before archiving, even bad parts of long clips. I change the clip name to something understandable and also write something in the "Description" field. This comment in "Description" will be imported to "Log_note" in FC when importing with XDCAM Transfer. Very useful.
Sverker Hahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 10:15 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
From Sony's Micro site: (Sony | Micro Site - XDCAM EX)
------------------------------
Log and Transfer Utility for Apple FCP Version 1.00

The Log and Transfer plug in software utility for XDCAM EX allows any resolution of current XDCAM EX file to be easily imported within FCP using the standard Log and Transfer interface within FCP.

Works with Apple Tiger /Leopard Operating System (Mac OS X Ver10.4.11 or later) also requires FCP 6.03 or later.

Instructions:
1) Create a new folder to copy dmg file to.
2) Copy file to your Mac.
3) Double click on the icon in the folder you have created.
4) Installer will launch. Follow the installation instructions.
5) Use the Log and transfer window to ingest EX files into FCP.

NOTE: XDCAM Transfer has the following advantages over Log and Transfer
Support both XDCAM EX & XDCAM Disc
Handles XDCAM EX and XDCAM Disc clips
mounting SxS & PD media at the same time
MXF export capability
Can write edited material back to Professional Disc in MXF files
Standalone browser/viewer
Browsing/viewing are possible without running Final Cut Pro

Other benefits
Full-screen playback
Cache functionThumbnail information available even after ejecting the media
Can create multiple sub clips by Mark In/Out

Log and Transfer has the advantage of working directly within the standard Log and Transfer interface within FCP

Click here to download the software
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2009, 08:57 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 77
What FCP setting for editing 1080 30p footage?

Okay, I'm about to start editing the first footage I filmed with my EX1. I shot everything 1080 30p so I'm curious what setting in FCP to choose for the timeline? I see multiple options under Sequence Preset;

ProRes 422 1080 30p
DVCPro HD 1080 30p
HDV 1080 30p
XDCAM HD 1080 30p (VBR)
XDCAM HD 1080 30p (CBR)


Which is the best? I would assume one of the XDCAM options but I've also seen ProRes 422 mentioned in several threads. Once I get my editing situation up and running then I can worry about the downconversion problems everyone has a different opinion about.

Thanks for any input.
Chad Hucal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2009, 08:19 AM   #7
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
The easiest way to do a simple edit is just to drop a clip in the seq, FCP will ask if you want to adapt that clips settings to seq.

If you click apply then you will have a XDCAM HD 1080 30p (VBR) or XDCAM HD 1080 30p (CBR) depending on how you shot the video.

This works great for a simple edit session, no rendering needed to play.

If you need to do a lot of cc or composting the Prores422HQ 30p is best. If you are jumping into Color then set color to output that as well.
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2009, 10:35 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
I shoot mainly 1080 30p and edit with Final Cut Pro so I feel qualified to answer this! :)

1) Use EASY SETUP. It makes things REALLY easy. Just go to Final Cut Pro>Easy Setup and choose XDCAM EX 1080p30 VBR. Make sure you choose the one with EX in the name. If you don't have any with EX in the name, let me know and I'll tell you the fix (thanks Craig!)

2) File>New Project and you'll be all set.

3) Select your Sequence in the Browser window (highlight it) and go to Sequence>Settings. Go to the Render Control tab and change Codec: Same as Sequence Codec to Codec: Apple ProRes 422 [HDV, XDCAM HD/EX only]. This will force FCP to render in ProRes instead of XDCAM EX. This will save you time and you'll have fewer problems (at least in my experience).

From now on, every new sequence you create will have the correct sequence settings for your footage. It will play without rendering. NOTE: Don't forget to manually perform Step #3 every time you create a new Project. Easy Setup won't do this step for you.
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2009, 10:41 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 3,868
Chad I have shot 4TB of EX1 footage in the last year and for 1080p 30p I use the FC XDCAM EX 1080p 30p VBR with excellent results.
__________________
Paul Cronin
www.paulcroninstudios.com
Paul Cronin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2009, 10:48 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
I just noticed that in your original message you don't see a choice for XDCAM EX (only XDCAM HD). I'm guessing you have the same problem that quite a few of us had. Here's how to add XDCAM EX settings to FCP. (thanks Craig!)

If Final Cut Pro is running, quit the application.

1) In the Finder navigate to Macintosh HD>Applications>Final Cut Pro Additional Easy Setups>English. Scroll down and you'll see the XDCAM EX settings your missing (there are 10 of them)

2) Navigate to Macintosh HD>Library>Application Support>Final Cut Pro System Support>Custom Settings. So now you should have two windows open in the Finder.

3) Drag the 10 XDCAM EX files from Step #1 window into the second window Custom Settings folder.

Launch Final Cut Pro and you should now see XDCAM EX settings in your Easy Setup menu. This should make things a lot easier for you. :)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 12:52 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 77
Thanks guys for your input. Mitchell, I followed your steps for getting the EX option to show up under the Easy Setup. Was dragging the 10 files over any different than just copying them and paste. By dragging them out and removing them from the first folder, will that affect anything I do later on?, or does it only matter that they're in the folder they are now?

One other question, when I highlight the Sequence and then click on Sequence>Settings and adjust the codec to ProRes 422, on the "General" tab, what "Pixel Aspect Ratio" should I set to? Right now it defaults to "Square". The last thing I edited was DV 4x3. Which of the HD options should I go with?, and should I check the Anamorphic 16:9 box?

Thanks for all your help. Greatly appreciated.
Chad Hucal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 08:17 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
1) You can copy/paste them. It doesn't matter. In fact if you drag them over but hold down the option key while dragging, you'll notice your "mouse arrow" turn into a "plus sign". This is telling you that you're about to copy the files over instead of moving them. Try it and you'll see what I mean.

2) Re-read what I wrote. Once you have selected XDCAM EX 1080 30p VBR in Easy Setup, all new projects you create will have the correct Sequence settings.....except, the Render tab setting. That's where you want to change the compressor to ProRes, not the compression setting in the General tab. You got that part mixed up. :)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 10:15 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,782
Final Cut Pro Sequence Render Setting. Avoids Long GOP Conform during editing.
Attached Thumbnails
Final Cut Pro and XDCAM EX -- various topics-fcsequencerendercodec.jpg  
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 10:44 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 77
Thanks again. I did understand what you were saying Mitchell, I had changed the setting under the Render tab, I just was just also checking out the other tabs to see what was there and noticed the General tab had those pixel settings. I wasn't sure if that needed changing, but after clicking on a few HD options I see that it really stretches the Viewer window out, which doesn't look right. So I left it at "Square".

If there were other options to change I'm sure you would have pointed those out anyway, I was just getting curious. So I'm all good now, I'll start editing this week. Then I'll have to sort out the downconversion steps for best outcome. I see lots of posts but no unifying best option.

Thank you for everyone's help!
Chad Hucal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2009, 10:54 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
Sorry.......Square Pixels is the correct setting for XDCAM EX footage.

Good luck with your first edit! :)
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network