Video Pulsing Problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 27th, 2009, 06:14 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 17
Video Pulsing Problem

Hi,
I am still a rookie and searched for a similar problem, but didn't see anything so I thought that I would ask.


I videotaped an event last weekend with two Canon XH A1 cameras. I taped in 3 different locations. After capturing the video to my computer, the video from the first two locations looks fine, but the video shot in the last location has a slight "pulse" every 1/2 second or so where the brightness and color changes very slightly. I can see it on the Canvas and on the Waveform scope.

Any ideas what is causing it. It was taped in 1080i60 at 29.97. First I thought that the problem was caused because the sequence was set to anamorphic DV, but when I viewed it in HDV, it had the same problem. It is not real noticeable, but I noticed it. Is it a lighting issue?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Brian
Brian Maynard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 07:33 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 28
could be that you filmed in an interior and the light frequency was messing with the shot as the shutter settings were not in balance with the light source ( for example this is really noticeable when filming a computer screen).
I Always manage to avoid this problem, but perhaps a de flicker plugin can fix your image.
Jonathan Massey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2009, 08:19 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 17
Hi Jonathan,
thank you for taking the time to help.

A "deflicker" plug-in? I have never heard of that, but it is a good suggestion and I will do a search and see what I can find.

Thank you.

Brian
Brian Maynard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2009, 01:10 AM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
If you shot in any auto-exposure mode it could also have been the camera making constant white-balance and exposure changes, the pulsing might be minute shutter-speed changes made by the camera - at not too uncommon issue when in auto modes.

If you could up load a few seconds of the clip we could better identify the possible cause and solution.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2009, 07:04 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 17
Hi Robert.
Thank you for taking the time to help.

The video was shot in auto-exposure mode and I think that your analysis is correct.

Assuming that is the issue, can you suggest a fix?

I see that there is a "deflicker" filter in FCP. Would that help?

I also read a post that suggested that there is an After Effects filter that might help. Any detail on that would be appreciated.

I will get some of the footage up in a little bit also.

Brian
Brian Maynard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28th, 2009, 09:31 AM   #6
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
If the problem is in fact auto-exposure "pumping" then a de-flicker filter won't help, de-flicker is actually used for a something unrelated to exposure so it wouldn't help anyway.

Unless you're in a constantly changing lighting situation that makes it impossible to track manually such as a fast-moving event (reality TV comes to mind) you should *always* be shooting in full-manual exposure. Any auto-exposure should be limited to iris (aperture) and white-balance only and shutter-speed should always remain fixed.

It would take an expensive session in a professional color-correction facility to manually correct these pumping issues frame-by-frame, so you may be stuck with the final result. Until I see a clip however I can't offer any method for masking the problem.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2009, 01:01 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 410
I just updated a post I started about this. Here is the link to a clip that I made of what is happening to me.

www.chaddyleproductions.com/video/sample.mov (Right click, "Save As")
Chad Dyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 06:00 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kennewick, WA
Posts: 1,124
What format is that MOV? Quicktime can't open it on my computer.
__________________
Sony EX3, Canon 5D MkII, Chrosziel Matte Box, Sachtler tripod, Steadicam Flyer, Mac Pro, Apple/Adobe software - 20 years as a local videographer/editor
Mitchell Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1st, 2009, 07:22 PM   #9
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Right, that clip is either corrupt or isn't in a supported format that any Mac-based player can handle. I haven't seen a clip from Brian's issue either.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network