Final Cut Express won't capture audio from wireless mic at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 2nd, 2006, 06:06 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cashiers, NC
Posts: 24
PLEASE HELP! Final Cut Express won't capture audio from wireless mic

PLEASE HELP ME!

Hello everybody.
I have filmed using a wireless mic system and can't import the AUDIO into Final Cut Express. The video has been captured into FCE, but not the audio. It is "not there". The audio has been recorded on the tape, for sure. On my XL1-S the audio has been recorded on the Left channel. If I am not wrong I used audio 2.
Please, help me - I have a deadline.

Last edited by Rey Soares; March 3rd, 2006 at 02:51 PM.
Rey Soares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2006, 07:08 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Check your capture settings and make sure audio capture hasn't been turned off. That's the second tab in the Log & Capture window.

Second, assuming that you have heard the audio playback already on the camera, make sure your editing set-up is monitoring both audio tracks. Sounds simple but it's an easy mistake. Check the captured video files in the viewer window, the audio tab should show a waveform on the recorded channels.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 10:33 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cashiers, NC
Posts: 24
Hey William, I've checked the settings and they seem to be ok.
Now, the audio doesn't have the wave on it. Right after the part of the audio that doesn't have sound, I can hear what I filmed next when not using wireless mic. Both of this audios have been imported at the same time! The audio can not be heard only on that part of the tape recorded wirelessly.
Somebody has mencioned to me that it's because I use Final Cut Express. Do you agree with that?
Thanks again.
Rey
Rey Soares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2006, 10:51 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rey Soares
If I am not wrong I used audio 2.
Please, help me - I have a deadline.
That would be the problem. If you were using Audio 2, then you must have the camera in 4 channel mode which is 12bit/32khz audio. You'll need to adjust the capture settings if possible. I use FCP and am not sure what you have available in FCE. By default, mini-dv is two channel 16bit/48khz audio. That audio is what is normally captured.

Hope you get it worked out,

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 02:37 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rey Soares
Hey William, I've checked the settings and they seem to be ok.
Now, the audio doesn't have the wave on it. Right after the part of the audio that doesn't have sound, I can hear what I filmed next when not using wireless mic. Both of this audios have been imported at the same time! The audio can not be heard only on that part of the tape recorded wirelessly.
Somebody has mencioned to me that it's because I use Final Cut Express. Do you agree with that?
Thanks again.
Rey
Not to be repetative but can you hear the wireless mike when playing back the tape, either on headphones or the monitor?

Final Cut Express should have no bearing on the audio captured if it's on a standard DV tape.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 02:48 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cashiers, NC
Posts: 24
Yes, the audio is on the tape, but can not get imported to FCExpress.
Thanks again,
Rey
Rey Soares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 03:05 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cashiers, NC
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Boston
That would be the problem. If you were using Audio 2, then you must have the camera in 4 channel mode which is 12bit/32khz audio. You'll need to adjust the capture settings if possible. I use FCP and am not sure what you have available in FCE. By default, mini-dv is two channel 16bit/48khz audio. That audio is what is normally captured.

Hope you get it worked out,

-gb-

So, Greg, next time, shoud I just plug my wireless XLR cable to Channel 1 and forget about Channel 2. I just need one Channel on because I am interviewing just one personl. Shoud I keep the on-camera mic on? Not that I need that on, but would it be safe in case wireless transmission goes wrong?

Thanks man,
Rey
Rey Soares is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2006, 06:17 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
If you are using one wireless mike it's a good idea to have another mike in the other channel. Usually I use the camera mike. Sometimes the talent will move or scratch in such a way that the clip on mic is scraped. I can mix in the other channel to fill in the momentary loss of audio.

Here's an experiment. Get your camera and record the wireless mike on one channel for a few seconds and then the other. Capture this footage and se if the mike still drops out. Also try it with the camera mike on the other channel while you are talking into the wireless.

If the wireless audio refuses to capture but the camera mike captures, you have discovered a very strange phenomena.

Here's a workaround: Download an audio program, like the free Audacity, and record the wireless channel by conecting the line out of your deck or camera to the audio in of the Mac. Record the wireless mike channel and experiment with importing an AIFF file into FCE and syncing up the sound.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2006, 06:28 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cashiers, NC
Posts: 24
William and Greg, I just want to THANK you so much for the attention to this thread.
I think I have found a solution for the problem. I have filmed again and used the wireless on Channel 1. I didn't have any problem when uploading the image/audio to the Final Cut express. The audio was there.
But, when using mixed Channel or Channel 2 only the audio doesn't get imported. I guess I am happy with this "solution".
Thanks again,
Rey
Rey Soares is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network