Windows on Mac - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 14th, 2006, 10:53 AM   #16
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 1
I also installed Windows xp on my MacBookPro. So far no problems. I only gave xp the default 5 GB partition because there is only 1 Windows-only program that I want to run.

I would love to hear more info about the booting xp from an external drive. I could use that 5 GB of space back on the Mac side!!
Patrick Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2006, 02:13 PM   #17
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Morrissette
Anyone know when the mactel g5's will be out?
I think you mean Intel PowerMacs?.... the G5 is the IBM/Motorola/Freescale chip which is being replaced. But the answer is that no, nobody knows. Apple is very tight lipped about future products and doesn't hesitate to prosecute anyone who leaks inside information. But they are on record as saying the transition will be completed this year I believe.

There are plenty of rumor sites that speculate about this sort of thing, but we generally avoid it here, with the except of our "area 51" forum: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=68
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2006, 12:24 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 289
My MBP 2.0 is running FCP 5.1 VERY well! I am more than happy with the performance. Capturing footage, building the timeline (scrubbing, trimming, placing, etc.) and previewing are all as snappy as my dual 2.5 G5 system. I've only rendered one piece so far, but compressor took a 4.5 minute HDV timeline to DVD in about 12 minutes. Not sure how that compares to the G5 yet, but it seems pretty good so far. Need to try out Motion...

I did the Boot camp thing and have XP running perfectly. Still missing a few drivers (iSight, Expresscard, IR port) but that will come. I can bluetooth sync my WM5 phone/PDA to Outlook over Bluetooth. Seems pretty solid so far!

My only gripe is the heat. Boy this thing runs pretty hot! I plan on taking it to an Apple store to get an opinion, but it seems like the fan doesn't run-at least as much- since the firmware upgrade for boot camp. Its mostly a problem when charging the battery while using it. Battery only operation isn't so bad.
Greg Bellotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2006, 02:30 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 112
A bit off topic, but how fast would xp run on a g5 2ghz with some pc emulating software. Does anyone know is it usable or too slow?
Brendan Sundry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2006, 03:39 AM   #20
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,727
Slow to the point of unusable for anything like video editing. I have a dual core G5 and have run XP with Virtual PC. While you can use it for basic stuff (Slowly) you really wouldn't even bother for anything serious. Of course, if they release Virtual PC for Intel, well you'd be home and hosed I'd say, it'd be pretty awesome.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brendan Sundry
A bit off topic, but how fast would xp run on a g5 2ghz with some pc emulating software. Does anyone know is it usable or too slow?
__________________
My Website
Meat Free Media
Aaron Koolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2006, 05:21 PM   #21
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
If I remember correctly VPC emulates a Pentium 3 processor, pretty slow by todays standards.

Quote:
Benchmarks on Photoshop CS show that running Photoshop in Win XP on the Mac is MUCH faster than on OS X. I see no reasons why this would not be the case for AE as well.
Did you mean CS2? Current test involving PS running on a MacIntel machine mean that the processor is emulated my Rosetta and of course will be slower on the MacIntel. A fair comparison can only be made after the Adobe products are released in Universal Binary and do not run in emulation.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2006, 11:18 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 357
Yes, CS2. The point I was making was that until the Universal binary is released (late 2006 or 2007) then if speed is an issue it may make sense to run PS on the MacIntel in Windows mode. I suspect that once it is no longer running in Rosetta is will be as fast or faster than in Windows. Until then it is nice to have a choice.
__________________
Jeff Price
Flickerflix Nature Videos
flickerflix@yahoo.com
Jeff Price is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network