Edius will edit 7D footage in realtime, full resolution?! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Grass Valley / Canopus NLE
All flavors of Edius; other Grass Valley / Canopus software & hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2010, 01:00 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,430
Edius will edit 7D footage in realtime, full resolution?!

Grass Valley Extends Powerful Features of EDIUS Editing To Rapidly Expanding AVCHD Market

At this time, Edius is the only NLE that can do this. Free upgrade for Edius 5 users.
Warren Kawamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2010, 02:05 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Houston USA
Posts: 90
didnt take too much time reading it, but all i got from it is AVCHD and full res.
For me, ive been editing AVCHD w/ sony vegas for almost 2 year nows (generally at low res), export at full.

Anyways, back to the 7D. 7D shoots .MOV , couldnt find that or canon dslr in the article.

Still dont think you can edit .MOV raw...
Jack Tran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2010, 02:22 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Not sure what you can .mov raw, but just to be clear:

Yes, you can download the .mov files to your PC, load them into Edius and edit away, no transcoding or anything else is necessary.

I've done it.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2010, 11:22 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
But the 7D .mov files are mpeg4-AVC.
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:33 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Tran View Post
didnt take too much time reading it, but all i got from it is AVCHD and full res.
For me, ive been editing AVCHD w/ sony vegas for almost 2 year nows (generally at low res), export at full.

Anyways, back to the 7D. 7D shoots .MOV , couldnt find that or canon dslr in the article.

Still dont think you can edit .MOV raw...
I'm using Edius 5.12 (current version) and can edit 550D files without any conversion. Even with colour correction applied, the clips still play in realtime, but heavier filters cause it to stutter. The new version 5.5 when it comes will extend that to allow more filters and PIP to run realtime.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 10:24 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 12
What is your export option?

I also have 550d and a video 1920x1080 30p and I want to export to AVC/H.264 1920x1080 30p but Eidus prompts there is no this option.

Would anybody help?
Andy Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 07:01 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
This is correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Chan View Post
What is your export option?

I also have 550d and a video 1920x1080 30p and I want to export to AVC/H.264 1920x1080 30p but Eidus prompts there is no this option.

Would anybody help?
If you tick "enable conversion" in the exporter plug-in, you can pick 1920x1080 29.97p.
This is the same frame rate as your 550D.
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 03:27 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 12
I have tried it, enabled conversion and it prompts AVC/h264 is not usable.
Andy Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2010, 09:25 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stocksfield, England
Posts: 86
I have a 5D and get the same performance as Richard, the mov clips in Edius play in realtime. A single color correction effect can be added to each clip with no trouble but any more and playback becomes interrupted.

Andy, I'm guessing you have a progressive project setting?

That would explain why you are seeing the export message "AVC/h264 is not usable" since that format is usually for Blue-ray but there is no 30P, it's not BD legal, must be interlaced.
__________________
Claire
Claire Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 05:19 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 12
Thank you. I now know that I cannot choose h.264 30p. I need to use h.264 60i instead.
Andy Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2010, 12:32 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 8
Just wondering how long this took? I'm about to get this camera and edius and wanted to know if it could be done quickly and on what kind of computer setup. Thanks.
Jon Ching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 10:13 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Ching View Post
Just wondering how long this took? I'm about to get this camera and edius and wanted to know if it could be done quickly and on what kind of computer setup. Thanks.
I can edit 24p projects pretty easily mixing raw .mov's and raw EX1 footage, but don't expect this on a Core2 laptop!
Mine has dual Xeon 5550's and 10k RAID video drives.
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 06:25 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
What became sort of a mid-range 'standard' computer for video editing in the last year or so (most software companies post some sort of performance benchmarks on this) is the i7 920 processor with a minimum of 6GB of DDR3 RAM (12GB recommended) on the Asus P6T or the X58 mobo.

Both Edis 5.5 and Neo can smoothly edit 2-3 layers of Canon 5D/7D video smoothly on the mentioned configuration. Depending on the number and intensity of the effects you apply, this "smooth" may become less then... erm... smooth, but for basic editing it should fly.
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 11:56 AM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: California
Posts: 8
Ervin,

On your i7 system, how long does it take to process 7D video from the timeline for bluray and HD web files. My current setup takes many times more than realtime to make h.264 files. Thanks.
Jon Ching is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2010, 12:59 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atlanta/USA
Posts: 2,507
Jon,

Sorry for the long delay... been busy with a million other things, but finally did some testing with Canon files. Export to BluRay 1080i took almost 2x real time, to BluRay 720P about 25% longer than RT, while export to H.264 640x360 pixels at 1Mbps video + 128 Kbps audio was just under real time; export to Canopus HQ at 1080P also just under real time.

Adding some relatively mild effects (color correction) did not change processing times; CPU usage was 60-80%.

I hope this helps,
__________________
Ervin Farkas, CDVS
Certified Legal Videographer
Ervin Farkas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > Grass Valley / Canopus NLE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network