A free and easy way to export Quicktime to JVC HD cameras or D-VHS - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

High Definition Video Editing Solutions
For all HD formats including HDV, HDCAM, DVCPRO HD and others.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 5th, 2004, 03:41 PM   #61
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco CA
Posts: 386
Just to let you know that I had previously tested with both Pixlet and DC30 footage and had no problems here.

Cheers
__________________
Paul
Paul Mogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2004, 10:51 AM   #62
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 351
Well.....

It output about 16 minutes before suddenly the camera stoppec.

Paul, It might be that the data rate varries. I know CineForm requires the output to be set to fixed in the Adobe MPEG encoder.

Is there a way to do that in your script?

Keep going, we're almost there!

DBK
__________________
Darren Kelly
Darren Kelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2004, 12:26 PM   #63
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Paul has been kind enough also to help find a solution for encoding the uncompressed cinewave HD codec in 1080i. After tweeking Paul's scriptlet a little, I was able to get output, however, the picture was partially split. I then tried an export to pixlet first and everything went well, as did Paul's attempt. I don't know why the Cinewave codec is not allowing for a clean encode, but I thought I would pass on our experiences so far.
Thanks again to Paul.
Dave Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2004, 01:10 PM   #64
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 24
I'm new to all this, but I was able to get Paul's program to work. It's great. I was wondering if there might be a similar solution for converting the originally captured material into pixlet. Right now, I have so many steps to accomplish before I can start editing. If there were a similar droplet to get started we'd really be set.
Thomas Ferlauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2004, 06:39 AM   #65
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
Posts: 10
SD to HD?

So with this method one could edit in Final Cut Pro SD and upconvert using the JVC HD or D-VHS?
Craig Moreschini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2004, 06:41 AM   #66
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
Posts: 10
Re: SD to HD?

I'm looking for a temporary cheap method for converting and mixing some privious SD footage with JVC HD. So I'm looking for a method to convert SD to HD.

<<<-- Originally posted by Craig Moreschini : So with this method one could edit in Final Cut Pro SD and upconvert using the JVC HD or D-VHS? -->>>
Craig Moreschini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2004, 07:26 AM   #67
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
This thread describes a method for exporting back to the camera, there are several methods for importing JVC's MPEG2 HD into Final Cut. Do a search for "Project X" or "Diva" in this forum to find these. I see from other posts that you are using Avid? I have zero experience with Avid at this point, but in Final Cut you can combine HD and SD footage without a problem.
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 10:53 PM   #68
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Wow! I'm impressed. I hadn't check on this board for a while and I'm very impressed with what you've been doing Paul...

So I tried the droplet and the first step seems to process any QT file at 1280 X 720 unless the files contain audio. Whenever audio is on the QT file (regardless the format), I get this error:

**ERROR: [mpeg2enc] Could not read YUV4MPEG2 header: bad header magic!

Any ideas?
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2004, 04:08 PM   #69
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stony Brook NY
Posts: 169
Hi Frederic,
Are you using HDVerter (Not HDQT2TS which is an earlier version)?
http://www.celt.sunysb.edu/paul/HDVerter.tar.gz
If so, what format is the audio you are using?

By the way, will lumeireHDV's editing solution support export?
Paul St. Denis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2004, 04:15 PM   #70
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Point Pleasant, NJ
Posts: 437
Paul,

Yes, I am using the latest droplet.

I've tried many audio formats and the problem persists.

Lumiere HD will support export (we are still working out the technical hurdles).

Here's a feature list for Lumiere HD:
http://www.lumieremedia.com/hdv/lumierehd_features.pdf

Thanks, Paul.
Frederic Lumiere is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > High Definition Video Editing Solutions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network