Alot of digital drop outs w/Pics at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 26th, 2007, 02:28 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Alot of digital drop outs w/Pics

HD-100.

Had been shooting with Panasonic MQ tapes without issue.

Panasonic replaced MQ series tape with AMQ, now using them.

No display in camera while shooting yet when played back on two separate HD-50 vtrs we get the flashing "head cleaning required" error. Picture has random horizontal digital dropouts throughout.

Ran head cleaning tape through all units several times without any improvement.

Tested a digital clone via firewire from HD-100 to HD-50, issues remained but not as prominent.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
Attached Images
   
Craig Meadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 06:16 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Posts: 27
Drop outs on Playback Tape etc

Had the same issues. Shots have been totally damaged. Sent the camera to JVC. Technician said, because of using Sonytapes: dirty heads. But I used JVC Pro-stock... so he repaired the camera, and I bought the Firestore HD-100. Problems solved, but a little expensive... Very few dropouts on tape, but still a few...
Best would be: send the camera to JVC, get the Head cleaned and put to the right place (my english is bad, sorry), and only use one brand of tape, best would be JVC Pro-Tape as recommended.
Hope this helps.
Edwin Beeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 09:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Our camera is off to JVC for repair. I found on another forum HD200/250 cameras having similiar issues. One person said JVC replaced the main board to fix this "drop out" issue. Anyone else have to send their camera in to fix this?
Craig Meadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 09:12 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
How many dropouts do you average per 60 min tape?

I average about 2-5 per 60 min. I live with it until I can afford firestore.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 12:17 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
I had the same issue with my HD100. JVC replaced the tape transport, drum assembly and then updated the firmware.

Fixed the problem.

Dan Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 03:35 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Luce View Post
How many dropouts do you average per 60 min tape?

I average about 2-5 per 60 min. I live with it until I can afford firestore.

We have ALOT, which is why we sent it in for repair. The footage is unusable. What is strange is how random it seems. You can be logging in FCP and they are all over the place. You go to capture and they aren't in the same spot they were while logging. Occasionally they go away. Playback on the camera is fine with no warning and as mentioned earlier a firewire dub from cam to deck seems to help just a little. Problems appear on two different HD50 decks.
Craig Meadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2007, 10:55 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Just heard from the JVC repair facility in Lawrenceville, GA. No evaluation yet but they said it would take 2-3 weeks to get our camera back. Sure glad I kept that Z1 as a back-up.
Craig Meadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 06:24 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edwin Beeler View Post
Had the same issues. Shots have been totally damaged. Sent the camera to JVC. Technician said, because of using Sonytapes: dirty heads.
I had a similar problem a few weeks ago but I just ran a tape head cleaner a few times and the problem is solved.

If your head cleaner isn't producing an improvement, then it was probably recorded that way so you are screwed. Do the dropouts happen in the same places during playback?

Sony tapes are fine. I have close to 200hrs with them and I've only needed the clean the heads once. The reason I use the Sony tapes is because they are very reliable compared to equally priced tapes. I never get dropouts.
Scott Jaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 01:44 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Jaco View Post
I had a similar problem a few weeks ago but I just ran a tape head cleaner a few times and the problem is solved.

If your head cleaner isn't producing an improvement, then it was probably recorded that way so you are screwed. Do the dropouts happen in the same places during playback?

Sony tapes are fine. I have close to 200hrs with them and I've only needed the clean the heads once. The reason I use the Sony tapes is because they are very reliable compared to equally priced tapes. I never get dropouts.
Scott, thanks for the input. What is weird is no they don't seem to be in the same places during playback. For example you can be logging in FCP and see them but when you capture they might be in a differnt spot on the clip. It's very odd. Another user said JVC had to replace the main board and drum assembly to fix his camera with these issues. At the price point of this camera body I am kind of worried that a repair like that with labor will cost close to what a new camera body sells for. I am used to old school betcam/dvcam drum/repair prices so hopefully I will be pleasantly suprised with this estimate when presented.
Craig Meadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2007, 02:58 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Larkspur, CA
Posts: 378
I've definitely had dropouts coming from the deck while digitizing- the cameras have been perfect. I still prefer tape because the cheap non-locking firewire connectors on the firestores make me nervous. Someone should make an industrial firewire connector for field work!

Craig- would there be any improvement if you just digitized the whole tape? In other words- do your logging after digitizing. This would put less wear and tear on the heads and reduce dropouts? This is what I do but I also have a 2.5 TB LaCie drive.
Justin Ferar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2007, 07:41 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 83
In HDV mode-30p or 24p I had lots of dropouts. I tried cleaning the heads (I only used Sony tapes at that time). No luck. Wierd thing is I didn't have dropouts in DV mode (60i). Sent in my HD100 to JVC and they ugpraded the firmware and re-soldered the firewire port.
Tup Wright is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network