Dirty heads- does that mean ruined tape? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 25th, 2003, 07:43 PM   #1
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Dirty heads- does that mean ruined tape?

I recently have been having problems with my brand new DVX100 as of today. The camera is giving me the "dirty head" message even though I've never mixed tapes, etc. Towards the end before I stopped filming and shut the camera off the play back started exitibing artifacts, though when I'd hit stop then play again it would clear up.

Well now I got home and tried playing that tape back in my GL-1, the whole tape is fine until the end where it started exibiting artifacts playing back in the original camera. The footage exibited artifacts (though not as bad as when played back originially from the camera that shot it) but the audio was consitantly damaged. Almost shrill sounding, kinda hard to explain.

That leads me to my question- if, say for the sake of argument, your heads end up getting dirty during a shoot (somehow) does that "always" mean the glitches will transfer to the tape? Also if it does how come the glitches (digital artifacts) don't seem to have any continuity. Sometimes they show up when playing and sometimes they don't?!
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2003, 08:34 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Unfortunately, yes.

The for glitches being random may be that the signal is almost there and when it is, the error correction can give you a clean signal. Other times there is just too poor a signal for recovery.

Why don't you clean the heads on the camera and then dupe the tape to your GL1. You may have to play the damaged area a few times but you might then be able to retrieve almost inact footage when you piece it together on a timeline.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2003, 05:03 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
How would you dupe a tape between two cameras? Also if/when I run the headcleaner I don't know if I'll allow another sony tape to hit my DVX...ever.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2003, 10:14 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Place the camera elected to record into record mode, the player camera into play. Firewire cable between them.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2003, 11:24 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Hmm I'd need some sort of special firewire cable then. Correct?
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2003, 02:34 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
<<<-- Originally posted by Glen Elliott : Hmm I'd need some sort of special firewire cable then. Correct? -->>>

Just a 4-pin to 4-pin assuming that is what both cameras sport. To me, that's sort of a normal cable and readily available.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2003, 02:53 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Not to me- the only I've seen is the 4 to 6 (I think it is) the standard ieee1394 you'd use to connect to a firewire capture card.
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2003, 03:03 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Glen,in computer stores you will see the 4/6, in video stores you will find the 4/4 cables
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2003, 03:17 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
Interesting. My editing cards, which do have firewire connections all have 4-pin connectors. I thought (shows what I know) that only the macintosh side needed the 6-pin to 4 pin cables.

Anyway, places like the Firewire Depot have any flavor you wish.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2003, 09:24 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
You can find the 4 to 4 pin connector at Sears.

My Sony has both 4 and 6 pin ieee 1394 connectors, 4 pin in front 6 pin in back.
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2003, 09:50 AM   #11
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Not to contradict Mike, but many PCI FireWire cards have 6-pin connectors. Most laptops and almost all camcorders have 4-pin connectors (with the sole exception I'm aware of being the Sony DSR-250). All three types of FireWire cables (4 to 4, 4 to 6, 6 to 6) should be readily available.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2003, 01:46 PM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vallejo, California
Posts: 4,049
I found a place that sells 6 to 4 pin adapters for $10. Seem to work well.
__________________
Mike Rehmus
Hey, I can see the carrot at the end of the tunnel!
Mike Rehmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2003, 03:16 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 20
similar problem

Hi Glen

I recently had a similar problem occur. I shot some footage with my mx300, the footage was terrible! I sent the cam away for a service (needs full cyl head replacement) and during that time we hired an xl1-s for a shoot. I used the xl to veiw some of the damaged footage from the mx300 and all of the video was fine.....well actually spotless......

Just thought id chip in...

Rich
Richard Austin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network