Moving a QT movie from Mac to PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 27th, 2007, 07:58 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 253
Moving a QT movie from Mac to PC

Hello everyone, I hope someone can help with this. I have a 4.5 minute movie in QT at 720p HD. The file is currently 660 meg. I dont have sorensen on my mac yet so I tried moving the movie file from my mac to a seagate external hard drive and then uploading from the hard drive to the pc so I can then run it in sorensen to reduce the file size.
When I drag the file into the external and "test play" it on the mac it plays fine. However when I plug the external into the PC and try to run the file I only get audio. I dont have QT pro on the PC just QT7 free download.
It sees the file as 660 meg but wont play it. I also tried to pull it into sorensen and sorensen gives me a warning that the file type is not supported.
I have squeezed other QT movies with it before. I susspect I need QT pro

Thanks
John Cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 09:21 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Burlingame, CA USA
Posts: 285
Is it an m2t file? If so, that's an HDV-native file and probably won't play without a real editing system installed.
__________________
me@facebook: http://facebook.com/stevemallerphotography
Steve Maller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 03:20 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Cash View Post
I have a 4.5 minute movie in QT at 720p HD.
John:

You mention that the movie is "in QT". What is the file fomat? Is it a .mov file or another format? This information will help us to figure out the issue.
__________________
www.SayreMedia.com
Jeff Sayre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2007, 04:43 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 253
Sorry, Im new to final cut ..coming from Adobe. I saved it as a quicktime and then sent it to compressor. I output it at 720p on the compressor settingsand saved it in Desktop When I double click and hit "get info" it says Quicktime movie so I assume its .mov
Im so new to Mac I dont even know how to pull up the file to see the actual extension
I thought once it was render as a quicktime movie in compressor it was output as an .mov file
John Cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2007, 09:33 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Cash View Post
Sorry, Im new to final cut ..coming from Adobe. I saved it as a quicktime and then sent it to compressor. I output it at 720p on the compressor settingsand saved it in Desktop When I double click and hit "get info" it says Quicktime movie so I assume its .mov
Im so new to Mac I dont even know how to pull up the file to see the actual extension
I thought once it was render as a quicktime movie in compressor it was output as an .mov file
When you export a QT file you have the option of exporting as a referenced movie or a self-contained. Referenced movies must connect to original files on you Mac and, unless you have a rock solid network, a PC QT application probably can't find the original files ... so nothing happens. Self-contained QT exports are huge, but do not have to rely on any link to display, as tey contain all data. The reason for referenced files is to save on hard drive space and speed up the file transfer significantly.

This might be an explanation for your quandry.
__________________
Waldemar
Waldemar Winkler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 08:02 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 253
Some of the small Quicktime movies will play. None of the HD files will play. Im starting to think I just need to upgrade tp quicktime pro fpr the pc in order to have the right codec to play the HD files.
The QT movies are all made as self contained.

Thanks for all the input guys
John Cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 2nd, 2007, 08:30 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Potomac Falls, VA
Posts: 213
The Sheer video codec is cross platform.

http://www.bitjazz.com/en/products/sheervideo/
Matt Gottshalk is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network