Moire with GH2 after converted - Page 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 21st, 2011, 10:05 AM   #61
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Download the trial and take a look around in it, but yes it does
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 10:26 AM   #62
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Thanks Jim. If you happen to see any reviews, particlulary with comparisons to Cineform, please post.

I have been looking but see nothing yet. They are not in the same category of tools, but still.

This is a consumerish looking tool that I hesitate to download without knowing more about it. On the surface it looks very interesting. I appreciate the post!
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 11:04 AM   #63
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Hey Jeff, I have used TMPGEnc and it does a decent job of resizing. I just found Cineform / HDLink to be a better and MUCH faster way to do things. A lot depends on a person's needs. I do a lot of weddings as well as other types of shooting and I find Cineform / HDLink to be much better from my perspective. Other methods take more time and a TON of hard disc space. I do primarily multicam weddings that result in several hours of footage per wedding. I need the fastest and most efficient way to handle this footage. That's why I use Cineform / HDLink.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 01:31 PM   #64
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
Jim have you ever used ProCoder 3? I see B&H is still selling it.

ProCoder 3 | Grass Valley

I am editing with Edius 6 which fortunately has many of ProCoder's conversion tools built in but its still not as powerful as ProCoder.
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 01:43 PM   #65
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Forrest View Post
Jim have you ever used ProCoder 3? I see B&H is still selling it.

ProCoder 3 | Grass Valley

I am editing with Edius 6 which fortunately has many of ProCoder's conversion tools built in but its still not as powerful as ProCoder.
Ouch! 400 bones.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 02:03 PM   #66
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Looks interesting but do not see windows 7 support.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 02:38 PM   #67
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
I am running ProCoder 3 with Windows 7 64bit and it seems to be happy.
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 02:50 PM   #68
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Jim S, like you I do a ton of weddings, so your perspective is especially valuable. HD Link is where my sights are set, unless something else is clearly superior or as good, and costs less.

I imagine ProCoder is quite good, as Canopus puts out high quality software, at least that's what I've read. But at over $400, it would have to be as good, etc as HD Link and as fast.

Jim F, have you used both?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 03:25 PM   #69
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
Jim S, like you I do a ton of weddings, so your perspective is especially valuable. HD Link is where my sights are set, unless something else is clearly superior or as good, and costs less.

I imagine ProCoder is quite good, as Canopus puts out high quality software, at least that's what I've read. But at over $400, it would have to be as good, etc as HD Link and as fast.

Jim F, have you used both?
All else being equal, the Cineform solution seems like a lot more value since it can do a lot of other things.

But $400 could buy me a lot of Virtual Dub Love.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 03:47 PM   #70
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

No I have not. Seems to be Cineform HD link is the favorite and gets great reviews here. I only have ProCoder 3 because I had 2 and got an upgrade.
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 12:22 PM   #71
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
HDLink Settings

Jim S, would you kindly review my settings? I'm unsure here.

In addition, I'm unsure of the workflow. I've been on Cineform site, but it is crawlingly slow today, at least for me.

The attached image shows what my settings are as of now. My purpose is to convert 1080i footage for the end result of an SD 16:9 video. Thanks in advance for any assistance you can offer.

By the way, it is fast, and it looks like a no-brainer purchase for my wedding work!
Attached Thumbnails
Moire with GH2 after converted-hdlink-settings.jpg  
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 12:35 PM   #72
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Hi Jeff,

Those setting will do the job. When you load the converted files into Vegas, you may need to set the file properties to the proper aspect ration of 1.2121. Also set your project properties to NTSC DV widescreen 720 x 480, Deinterlace method - None (since your footage was converted to progressive), best rendering quality and you're all set.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 12:38 PM   #73
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Thanks Jim, I'm trying it out now. Is is best to deinterlace, or to leave it interlaced?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 12:41 PM   #74
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Jim, the files are coming out squished, 4:3 size.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2011, 12:45 PM   #75
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

As I indicated above, go to Project media and right click on the file(s) and select properties and set the aspect ratio to 1.2121 on each file and that will take care of it.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network