ARGH! HELP!! FX1 and ILINK at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 31st, 2006, 06:29 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 23
ARGH! HELP!! FX1 and ILINK

ARGH!

I've just got my shiny new FX1 and it's GREAT! However, i've filmed a few minutes of test footage, and i can't get the computer to recognise the camera.

When i plug my old XM2 in, it's immediately recognised and all is fine.
When i plug my FX1 in, NOTHING happens. It's not even acknowledged that i've plugged something in!
I've tried the FX1 in DV instead of HDV mode, and every combination of things i can think of, including hitting the reset button a number of times, but still no joy.

In addition, in the FX1 connectivity menu, under each of the settings (such as "I.LINK CONV. ON/OFF" it permanently says "changes NOT allowed. Unplug I.LINK cable" even though the ILINK cable is not connected and even after switching on and off and resetting.


HELP!!!!!!!!!!!
Peter Wallington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 06:34 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: West Sussex England
Posts: 695
What computer system are you useing?
If windows, you need to have XP with service pack 2 for it to recognise the camera.
Re i link, that is normal

hope this helps

regards

Mick
Mick Jenner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 06:34 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 23
Thanks Mick, yes I am using XP SP2
Peter Wallington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 08:27 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Personally I just ignore that error message, which both the FX1 and Z1 give regardless of whether anything is plugged into it. From your description I can't really understand what the problem is (probably an operating system or software issue on your computer, but I use Macs) - but that error message shouldn't have anything to do with it.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 09:41 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 23
WOHOO!

After the best part of an hour and a half talking to Sony customer service, with the conclusion that it must be a faulty DV interface on the camera (he said the error message was definitely a bad sign), i went an bought a new firewire card, just to make completely sure it wasn't that.....

AND NOW IT WORKS!!!!

What are the chances!
Bit odd, cos the XM2 and my external drives worked fine with the old card but not the FX1 - how strange.
Still, i don't care anymore!!! I'm off to play!
Peter Wallington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 01:38 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 334
Windows XP SP2 and FireW--um, 1394.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Wallington
WOHOO!

After the best part of an hour and a half talking to Sony customer service, with the conclusion that it must be a faulty DV interface on the camera (he said the error message was definitely a bad sign), i went an bought a new firewire card, just to make completely sure it wasn't that.....

AND NOW IT WORKS!!!!

What are the chances!
Bit odd, cos the XM2 and my external drives worked fine with the old card but not the FX1 - how strange.
Still, i don't care anymore!!! I'm off to play!
Peter,
I've had issues with GL2 and FX1 on my Firewire. #1 for the FX1: Make sure that if your tape is filmed in HDV mode, you have the iLink out set to NOT convert (or I think there might be an auto setting). Edit...this is assuming you want to capture HDV, of course If your tape is DV mode, set the iLink appropriately. That "error message" is not an error message, I don't believe--I think of it more as a reminder that if you switch modes while the camera is plugged in, you may have to disconnect/reconnect the camera for the mode change to be detected. Also, when in HDV mode, I never see the device show up in "My Computer", but the device does show up in the Device Manager (if you look). I usually just use my PPro to tell me if the capture device is hooked up propertly or not, when doing HDV.

Also, with respect to FireWire on XP SP2---it SUCKSSS!!! I have an onboard, and also a PCI card. I spent several nights of debugging, etc., with MS support (problems with both disks and cameras). Finally got a pre-SP3 patch (available only via customer support) that stabilized things, more or less. I keep my external drives on one 1394 interface (the PCI card) and my camera on the other. Daisy-chaining hard drives is still pretty flaky, and having the camera daisy-chained or on the same bus as the disks is REALLY flaky.

Microsoft will tell you that SP2 is much more compliant with the 1394 specs than was SP1--which implies that ALL the hardware manufacturers play fast-n-loose with standards. Unfortunately, MS has a reputation and history of going outside agreed-upon standards and attempting to set their own standards. Who to believe? Who knows/cares. The end result is still a flaky 1394 interface, and I more expect my OS to support my devices. I *personallY* think MS screwed something up in SP2 that messed up their 1394 interface, and just doesn't want to own up to it (just my opinion).

So, your hardware is probably fine, but the OS is flaky in its support of the hardware, which is why your XM2 still works on the one interface, and the FX1 has problems on that same interface (assuming good cables, of course).

Anyhow, that's my diatribe, based on a week of frustration trying to get a new installation of XP-SP2 to work with all my FireWire devices--and it's still not more than 75% reliable.

NOTE: Others have reported no problems with XP/SP2 and Firewire. I wish I was one of them...

ciao,
Matt

Last edited by Matt Vanecek; January 31st, 2006 at 10:37 PM.
Matt Vanecek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2006, 05:00 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
I've had to remove a few posts from this thread that were completely off-topic and evidently refered to some unrelated thread. If you disagree with something Peter said in another thread then your remarks belong there, but personal attacks are absolutely forbidden at DVinfo. Thanks for your cooperation.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network