XLR problem on PDX10P at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony TRV950 / PDX10 Companion

Sony TRV950 / PDX10 Companion
...plus TRV900, PD100A and other Sony DV camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 30th, 2003, 01:42 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 17
You have a PDX10? Please test your line level inputs.

The line level XLR inputs are located on the audio attachment on the top of the camera. I have two of these cameras and on both of them the line level xlr inputs do not seem to work. Bad distortion starts at -24 db. Please test yours and see if it works.

Guustaaf
Guustaaf Damave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 3rd, 2003, 09:26 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 106
XLR setup problem on new PDX-10

hi guys,

bought a pdx-10 - so far it looks very nice - however, after following the step by step setup operation for attaching the XLR adapter and supplied mic, I find that the menu option "XLR SET" still greyed out and unavailable to select.

According to the manual, this means that the camera has not detected the presence of the XLR input and therefore is continuing to use the onboard mic. I have checked and double checked the connections and they seem to be fine - am I missing a step here? Is there some other menu selection that i need to make in order for the camera to detect the XLR input - or is it more likely that there is something wrong with the adapter and/or mic?

Any feedback very welcome.

best,

DW.
David Warrilow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2003, 12:26 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 19
You might want to check the connecting of the hot-shoe, make sure to insert the plug at an angle as it said on add-on-sheet-manuals. Also if you accidently turn into memory mode, that xlr setting won't showed up.
Viethai Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2003, 11:04 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 90
This also happened to me and then i found out that I had only inserted the hot shoe to about 95% of the distance it needed to travel.

More carefully sliding it into place and pushing it in the whole way solved the problem.

Regards P
__________________
Sony PDX10 by 2, DRS-11, Dual G5, FCX, DVDSP and Logic Plat.
www.VarsityMusicVideo.com
Patrick Grealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2003, 06:24 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 106
Yeah guys,

i took it back to the store and they went 'Oh, yeah right...' then WHAM!! they rammed the connecter into place and hey presto! Y'know I thought that video equipment should be trated more delicate than that.

Oh, well it's working now. Thanks.

best,

D.
David Warrilow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2003, 05:32 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 90
See David,


I told you so !!!!

Regards

P
__________________
Sony PDX10 by 2, DRS-11, Dual G5, FCX, DVDSP and Logic Plat.
www.VarsityMusicVideo.com
Patrick Grealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 08:52 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
hello,

I am glad this topic came up, as i had assumed that my XLR connector was attached and working.. but i took a close look at it and low and behold my XLR set was also greyed out.. and i had to yank on the connector to make the camera see the XLR mic !! so this muct be a common errr feature. uumm problem..

is there a way to see if video already shot was shot with the XLR mic versus the cameras normal mic ???

Thanks for bringing this up..

Mike
__________________
Mike Moncrief mikemoncrief@gmail.com
www.themikemoncrief.com
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2003, 09:18 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Posts: 206
I just got a pdx 10 and went through this same problem... the connector seemed properly seated, but was greyed out in the menu... this low end dv gear is so fragile, it really did seem well seated... but nope.. it does have to be seemingly forced into place.
John Hartney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2003, 03:24 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 90
A quick check

To test if the shoe is properly connceted, Switch on Audio metering via the button, and simply tap the mounted mic. You can also rub the area where the standard built in microphone is located.

This will tell you if the show mount is operative.

regards P
__________________
Sony PDX10 by 2, DRS-11, Dual G5, FCX, DVDSP and Logic Plat.
www.VarsityMusicVideo.com
Patrick Grealy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2003, 08:17 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Posts: 206
Thanks Patrick,

but the connector seemed properly seated.... and it was obvious the on board stereo pickups were operating.

I'm a video engineer and treat this Dv gear with tender care and the pdx10 connector has a very strange feel to it... I tried attaching it several times with no connection until I read (on another board) you have to force it.... I did and it did connect...

But I never would have forced a connector like I did this one unless coached... (for fear of breaking the connection)

Best,

John
John Hartney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2003, 09:19 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
XLR problem on PDX10P

When I attach the XLR unit on my PDX10P the menu item XLR SET is still dimmed/greyed out.

Does this mean that there is a problem with the XLR unit or the cam? Do I need to 'reset' anything?
Syd Low Mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2003, 10:02 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 33
Push it waaaayyyy in....

Could be that you haven't pushed the XLR connector into the hot shoe far enough. It really has to be snug - happened to me.
Al
Alan Herr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2003, 05:16 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9
Al-you hit the nail on the head!
I rang my dealer, and he suggested the same.

It has to 'click' into place! I feel like a real goose :)
Syd Low Mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2003, 11:32 AM   #14
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
Its all good. Been there done that!
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2005, 12:21 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Paris, TX
Posts: 71
XLR Adapter Output

I want to purchase a Giant Squid mic for my PDX, and Darren said that he could attach an XLR plug to the current model for $6. He stated that it could be plugged directly into the XLR adapter, provided the output on the mic jack was no more than 10V. "However, more than 10 will fry them." I've looked through the online manual, but haven't been able to find anything on the output for the XLR adapter. Can anybody here help me out with that question?

Michael
Michael Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony TRV950 / PDX10 Companion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network