EX1R Workflow at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds
Sony PMW-300, PXW-X200, PXW-X180 (back to EX3 & EX1) recording to SxS flash memory.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 15th, 2012, 01:18 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
EX1R Workflow

Just switched from an XH-A1 to an EX1R and I needed some advice on the workflow. This is my first time working with XDCAM footage so any help is appreciated.

Should I convert the footage to ProRes 442 to work with in FCP 7? I read that I can just use the XDCAM Transfer program to convert the native EX .mp4 files into a format that FCP can use for editing.

Thanks
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 01:36 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: EX1R Workflow

There's a plugin for FCP 7 that lets you import clips directly from the BPAV folder into the FCP capture folder as a .mov.

Sony published a paper on workflow:
Sony | Micro Site XDCAM
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 01:38 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: EX1R Workflow

Also, I made the same transition a couple years ago. Vortex Media has a great DVD for learning the EX1R that includes workflow.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 01:57 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Re: EX1R Workflow

Thanks Les.

So once I import the clips directly into FCP using the plug-in I can either edit with them natively or I can use compressor to convert them to ProRes?

Which do you recommend?
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 02:28 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Re: EX1R Workflow

Oliver, How to you like the ex1 compared tot he XHA1? I have the XHA1 and i'm thinking about replacing it with an EX3 which is basically the same is the EX1 from what I understand.
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 02:31 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Re: EX1R Workflow

Kevin, so far for me the EX1R footage compared to the XHA1 is much better. I would highly recommend switching.
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 02:36 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 109
Re: EX1R Workflow

Hello Oliver,
Just edit natively and do renders in pro res. No need to convert everything to pro res. The Sony plugin allows you to use log and transfer from within FCP which I find to be the simplest route.

mb
Mark Bolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 05:38 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: EX1R Workflow

Work entirely in XDCAM EX codec. There is a "no transcode" option where you can output no recompression MPEG in Final Cut Pro. (Have your project settings with an XDCAM codec)

You do not need to transcode XDCAM. FCP7 has the XDCAM codecs and it works really well natively. Just choose the "Export to Final Cut" option in XDCAM Browser and it will export a native codec MOV much faster than transcoding.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2012, 01:02 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 522
Re: EX1R Workflow

Thanks guys, I think I have decided to edit natively and do renders in ProRes. Thanks again for the help on this.

This was also reassuring -
Final Cut Pro 7 Professional Formats and Workflows

Last edited by Oliver Darden; October 16th, 2012 at 01:42 PM.
Oliver Darden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 06:55 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Re: EX1R Workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver Darden View Post
...So once I import the clips directly into FCP using the plug-in I can either edit with them natively or I can use compressor to convert them to ProRes? Which do you recommend?
I recommend editing in XDCAM and exporting the timeline in XDCAM. I'll transcode other cameras to prores and mix it into the timeline but still export to XDCAM.

The only reason I can think of to export to Prores and suffer the long export and 3-4x disk space is having to handoff the clip to a non-XDCAM editor. But you may have other reasons.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2012, 04:36 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Posts: 963
Re: EX1R Workflow

@ Kevin: I used to have the XH-A1 years ago and I have the PMW320 now, which has the same imagers as the EX3. These Sony camera's are in a completely different league, compared to the Canon. The EX3 is a much more professional camera with a huge difference in image quality. Make the switch without hesitation!
Luc De Wandel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony XDCAM EX Pro Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network