DVDA with Photoshop Elements... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 15th, 2008, 04:56 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 654
DVDA with Photoshop Elements...

I'm trying to import a PSD file for a menu made with elements but get the error...

"the file does not conform to the required specifications"

Pressing the Details button says...

"the file has no valid layers".

Huh?

This is a standard layered photoshop file. What's the trick?
Rick Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2008, 05:42 PM   #2
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You may try flattening it and seeing if that works.

DVD Architect can use the layers (when specifically named a certain way) to automate some menu features. It could be some layers are named in such a way that it's confusing it.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 07:33 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
DVD Architect can use the layers (when specifically named a certain way) to automate some menu features. It could be some layers are named in such a way that it's confusing it.
Thanks Edward.

It seems to work when using the layer naming conventions in the help file but that's too much work.

I might try installing my copy of the full photoshop app instead of trying to do this in elements.
Rick Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 01:14 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Mankato,MN
Posts: 45
I do happen to have a few videos were I used a graphic I designed in Photoshop CS3 and some videos were I did use Flash CS3 to give certain effects to my music video.

I manage to get all my graphics into vegas by saving them as JPEG in Photoshop.
Just select JPEG when you click the save as button. Works for me.
But however, I have never tried this with DVDA, so please forgive me if i have gone of subject.
Matthew Ewing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 01:40 PM   #5
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You may be better off using PNG or some other less lossy format than JPEG. But, I'll agree, I've never had any issues with JPEGs either.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2008, 07:21 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
You may be better off using PNG or some other less lossy format than JPEG. But, I'll agree, I've never had any issues with JPEGs either.
Yeah, I know I can import other file formats into DVDA but doesn't that defeat the purpose of using layers and having greater control over designining your own buttons?

Maybe I misunderstand Sony's intent here when they made it compatible with PSD files but I do think that's the reason folks.
Rick Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2008, 07:45 AM   #7
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
If you still have the original PSD, you still have the layering. But if you're wanting to use these as buttons with layers, using the DVD Architect naming convention for the layers would be required. Otherwise, how would DVD Architect know what the various layers are? And, as you said, they worked using the DVD Architect naming convention. So why not just name them as DVD Architect desires?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 17th, 2008, 12:59 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel View Post
So why not just name them as DVD Architect desires?
Because I was surprised I had to do this. :)

I'm coming from Adobe Encore which does this all for you and allows one to name the layers anything you like. It's totally transparent to the end user.

Either this "method" of extracting layers in a PSD file is a secret and proprietary to Adobe or the Vegas coders just didn't put that functionality into DVDA. I'm thinking it's the latter (and wondering why).
Rick Steele is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network