5D + Neoscene + Vegas = CRASHES...Help? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2009, 01:12 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
Yes, but that wouldn't work for tape, only for BDs.
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2009, 06:09 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hauppauge, New York
Posts: 49
I have one more question. I have another project that was shot in 60i with A1 and I am mixing 5D files. I followed the method to convert everything to upper field first and I have the same crashing problem. Should I use lower field first? Progressive? I have a lot to learn about this stuff. I appreciate your help.
Anthony Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2009, 08:35 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA, USA
Posts: 348
If your output is going to be interlaced, keep it interlaced, upper field first. If it keeps crashing, maybe you would want to update to Vegas 9 (try the trial), and if that crashes too, research to find another editor that doesn't give you the same headaches.
Eugenia Loli-Queru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2009, 09:54 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hauppauge, New York
Posts: 49
Thought I was out of the woods but not quite, so I upgraded to Vegas 9.0a. All I get is out of memory errors!!!!!*&%^$#(#
I have 4gb of memory.
Anthony Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2009, 08:33 PM   #20
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Wait a few days until 9.0b is released. In the meantime, revert back to 9.0.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2009, 04:31 AM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
ooh that sounds good. Thanks Edward.
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2009, 10:06 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hauppauge, New York
Posts: 49
Just loaded up 9b same problems. My love for Vegas has soured. I can render my projects in version 8 or 9.
Anthony Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2009, 01:23 AM   #23
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 1,200
Anthony,

I'm no techie, but your workflow seems pretty messed up. You're rendering back to tape to use as a master file? I tried that once a long time ago, never again, it seemed like a good idea at the time though. If you render out at 1440x1080 .avi (cineform) you will have a big file of high quality, that should be far better than going back to 720 tape. Then you can then resize (using VirtualDub) to 720x480 for SD-DVD.
__________________
C100, 5DMk2, FCPX
Ken Diewert is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network