Fighting over the monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 17th, 2007, 08:01 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Fighting over the monitor

Here's what Vegas does. I'm editing along just fine in Vegas, using my monitor via firewire, I open DVDA to burn a DVD, instantly, DVDA takes over my monitor with a blue screen, I guess DVDA production screen. So my question, is Vegas just getting confused?
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 12:42 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hollywood USA
Posts: 128
How many monitors is in your setup? I have 3 monitors and sometimes the application jumps to the third monitor and comes across all three screens and I only see the middle or far right side of the window which is blue. But I just tried your problem on my deck and have no problems with both programs running. You might have to reinstall DVDA to see if it solves the problem.
__________________
Canon XHA1, SGpro,Flip,FF, RR Mattebox, Nebtek V-R70p-HDA with Canon, Nikkor Primes 24mm f2.8, 28mm f2.8, 35mm f2.0, 50mm f1.4, 85mm f1.4, 105mm f1.8, 135mm f2.0, and 300mm f4.0.
Cary Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2007, 01:06 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 2,965
Thanks for the reply

Via Firewire, I only have the one production monitor setup. For instance; if I am editing using the production monitor via firewire, and I open DVDA to burn a dvd, DVDA will take over the production monitor preview and not give it back to Vegas until I close DVDA. It's odd, and annoying. This doesn't affect my pc preview at all.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 12:13 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Steven, I stand to be corrected but, as I recall, if you de-select the "close media files when not the active application" box in Vegas (Options - Preferences - General), this should allow Vegas to remain active when you launch DVDA while Vegas is still running.
The other thing to try is disabling the external preview function in DVDA.
Mike Kujbida is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network