C100/Ninja 2 ... at DVinfo.net
DV Info Net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun
HD-SDI field recorders supporting a variety of codecs.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28th, 2020, 07:55 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 5
C100/Ninja 2 ...

Hi all,

My trusty C100 will no longer connect to my Ninja 2.

I tried with a mate’s C100 with the same result.

I changed the HDMI cables 3 times. Same result.

The Ninja 2 continued to claim that there was ‘No Signal’.

Strange, it was working last week and no menu changes have been made at all.

I plugged the C100 into an external monitor and then a smart TV - all was well. A good, clean picture, the HDMI connections were all snug and jiggling them did not reveal any loose connections or result in any picture breakup.

I then plugged my 5DMK4 into the Ninja 2 and the video image appeared immediately. Again, a good, clear picture and no issues when the HDMI connectors were jiggled about. We tried a second DSLR and that worked well too.

So, the Ninja 2 has refused to work with 2 different C100 cameras but works quite happily with a Canon 5DMK4.

Any ideas would be very welcome.

Cheers!
_________________________________________

C100 menu settings:

OTHER FUNCTIONS > HDMI – TIME CODE > ON

REC COMMAND > ON

VIDEO SETUP > CHARACTER DISPLAY > EXT OUT

HD ONSCREEN DISPLAY > ON
Stu McAlister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2020, 01:18 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 11
Re: C100/Ninja 2 ...

Maybe you bent a pin or so. try to send it to service, they will figure it out!
__________________
Canon 5D Mark IV | EF 35 1.4 L II | EF 85 1.4 L IS
Fotograf Brasov | Albume nunta botez
Marius Pavel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2020, 01:26 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,313
Re: C100/Ninja 2 ...

Wave your hand around in front of the lens or pan left and right with the camera. The recorder might need to lock on to the pulldown.
__________________
Nate Haustein PXW-FX9 / FCPX
www.flightcreativemedia.com
Nate Haustein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 29th, 2020, 03:04 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 5
Re: C100/Ninja 2 ...

Nate: Thanks for your suggestion. Tried that, no luck.

This morning I repeated changing HDMI cables and plugging the C100 into different screens: field monitor, smart TV ... all fine so there's no problem with the output of the C100 or the HDMI cables - just the Ninja 2 taking the C100 signal.

It still accepts the 5D signal without a problem, leaping into life straight away.
Stu McAlister is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY USA

Scan Computers Int. Ltd.
+44 0871-472-4747
Bolton, Lancashire UK


DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Atomos Ninja / Samurai / Shogun

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2024 The Digital Video Information Network