Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ? at DVinfo.net
DV Info Net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2021, 08:33 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 28
Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ?

Hi All,

I have a Sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S. Is it possible to use the record button on the camera to trigger the XHA1S without a tape inserted? I'm obviously maybe missing a setting, but if I hit record without a tape, it does nothing. The deck is non operational, so I can't test it WITH a tape lol :-D

Thanks!@
Evan Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2021, 04:45 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,756
Re: Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ?

Evan have you got the Sony manual .. check pages 4&6 here

https://pro.sony/s3/cms-static-conte...3290149121.pdf

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2021, 11:31 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 28
Re: Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ?

Thanks, I did find the manual. For some reason it wasn't working, but now it is, which is awesome.

I'm on firmware 01 on the Sony - any idea where to find firmware 02? I can find instructions on upgrading the MRC1K to firmware 2 but can't find the firmware :(
Evan Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2021, 02:47 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,756
Re: Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ?

Me, I’d have to find out why it is suddenly working, because it’s just as likely to suddenly not.

V2 is 11yrs old and been superceded by V3, follow the comments here - be careful …

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2021, 07:25 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 28
Re: Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ?

Awesome, thanks! Danger's my middle name!
Evan Platt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2021, 06:30 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Lakeland Florida
Posts: 635
Re: Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan Platt View Post
Hi All,

I have a Sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S. Is it possible to use the record button on the camera to trigger the XHA1S without a tape inserted? I'm obviously maybe missing a setting, but if I hit record without a tape, it does nothing. The deck is non operational, so I can't test it WITH a tape lol :-D

Thanks!@
There's a setting that needs to be set in the XH-A1S menu to record tapeless. I forget what it's called, haven't had my old Canon for about five years now. But, what I do remember, is when the setting is properly activated, there is an icon on the camera's LCD display that looks like a lightning bolt. The last three years or so I had the camera I never used a tape at all. I'm pretty sure there's a thread or two somewhere here on the sub-forum called "External Video Recording Solutions" discussing it. I used a DataVideo DN-60 recorder. Maybe in one of those threads.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Roger
Roger Van Duyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2021, 05:59 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,756
Re: Tapeless with sony hvr-mrc1k and XHA1S ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan Platt View Post
Awesome, thanks! Danger's my middle name!
Ha seems so. Assuming you bought your XH-A1s for a good price because its tape transport doesn’t work, I’d look at getting a quote to repair it. It might not cost much and some time way in the future when you’re selling it - because it now all works you could realise a good profit.

And if you haven’t got one, I’d get a 72mm UV filter asap to protect your camera lens.
When things settle down you could install some free custom presets, Chris has organised here …

https://www.dvinfo.net/forum/canon-x...d-library.html

I’ve installed 5 in both my A1 and A1s, they are excellent value.
Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY USA

Scan Computers Int. Ltd.
+44 0871-472-4747
Bolton, Lancashire UK


DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2021 The Digital Video Information Network