ProRes RAW support? at DVinfo.net
DV Info Net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 5th, 2018, 01:27 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belfast, United Kingdom
Posts: 21
ProRes RAW support?

Any news on ProRes RAW support on the Odyssey 7q+?
Andy Yoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2018, 06:50 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,419
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Dear Andy,

We are researching Apple ProRes Raw at this time.

We do not have any news to report right now.

Respectfully,
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2018, 04:51 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Hayden ID
Posts: 1
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Prores RAW would be so awesome on the Odyssey 7Q! Fingers crossed!
Rob Crain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2018, 09:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 497
Re: ProRes RAW support?

I agree. For FCPX users, CinemaDNG RAW footage is a bag of total crap. Importing hundreds of thousands of images as individual screen grabs and assembling it all is just too much....even the Apple FCPX creatives couldn't figure out how to do it even with published workflows.

For those of us who want the latitude to color RAW without the hassle of FXCPX and CinemaDNG RAW, this would be just the ticket.
__________________
Dave -
Dave Allen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2018, 03:32 AM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Milanówek, Poland
Posts: 3
Re: ProRes RAW support?

I guess for many of us adding Prores RAW would prolong our cameras and recorders lifespan. So yeah - any news about this?
Ryszard Syryczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2018, 03:57 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Harare, Zimbabwe
Posts: 19
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Is there any update on this?
__________________
www.mediamatrix.co.zw
Simon de Swardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2018, 08:46 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,003
Re: ProRes RAW support?

I've heard rumblings that it might be an Atomos exclusive for now.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2018, 10:48 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY, USA
Posts: 3,836
Re: ProRes RAW support?

I've heard it's a 6 month exclusive so it should start popping up in other places this fall.
I've love to see Blackmagic implement.
Craig Seeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2018, 08:26 AM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Milanówek, Poland
Posts: 3
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Andy,

We are researching Apple ProRes Raw at this time.

We do not have any news to report right now.

Respectfully,
Is there anything new coming up with that?
Ryszard Syryczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2018, 03:33 AM   #10
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Milanówek, Poland
Posts: 3
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Still no news? It's been half a year already
Ryszard Syryczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2019, 09:03 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 22
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryszard Syryczynski View Post
Still no news? It's been half a year already
I guess this is never going to happen at this point.
Jose Carlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2019, 12:44 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,003
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Personally, I'd rather see Blackmagic Raw implemented instead of ProRes raw, as there are more options for working with it (Premiere/Resolve).

However, at this point I think the evidence points to the Odyssey 7Q+ (which I own and use routinely) as being unofficially EOL'd.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2019, 06:40 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 43
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Huff View Post
However, at this point I think the evidence points to the Odyssey 7Q+ (which I own and use routinely) as being unofficially EOL'd.
Agreed. In the last year other than an occasional sighting of tech support there has been absolute silence from CD.

There is nothing wrong with that. Change happens and business goes through cycles. I still wish CD would be more upfront about this, so everyone knows where to stand. There is no indication on the website or anywhere else that this is going nowhere at this point. I would hate to be the person that buys one of these for good money only to find out it's essentially obsolete.
Jan Klier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15th, 2019, 08:56 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 22
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Huff View Post
Personally, I'd rather see Blackmagic Raw implemented instead of ProRes raw, as there are more options for working with it (Premiere/Resolve).
Has Adobe added BRAW support to Premiere? I only know of third party solutions or other workarounds, but no direct support.

Plus, I don't want to turn this into a codec war, but ProRes Raw is supported in more applications then BRAW is at this point (correct me if I'm wrong), plus, ProRes has a stronger foothold in the industry, thus, better prospects. BRAW is only currently supported in Resolve, as far as I know. If Edius can support ProRes Raw, why can't Premiere? I use all 3 major NLEs, and there's little reason to bother with Premiere at this point (Resolve is much better). I willing to bet that Premiere supports ProRes Raw before BRAW. Please don't sideline the thread (this is not about BRAW).

https://www.provideocoalition.com/pr...s-at-nab-2019/

Back to the topic. Dan Keaton: Does CD plan to support ProRes Raw or not?

Thanks
Jose Carlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 16th, 2019, 07:44 AM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,003
Re: ProRes RAW support?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose Carlos View Post
Has Adobe added BRAW support to Premiere? I only know of third party solutions or other workarounds, but no direct support.
Third party is still a workable solution, unlike no solution whatsoever.

Quote:
Plus, I don't want to turn this into a codec war, but ProRes Raw is supported in more applications then BRAW is at this point (correct me if I'm wrong)
Weird that you didn't list the applications: Filmlight, Assimilate SCRATCH, Colorfront, Telestream Switch, MTI Film, and Edius. Correct me if I'm wrong, but Edius is about the only 3rd party software on this list that the overwhelming majority of users on here have ever touched out of that list. Do you use any of that other listed software?

Quote:
ProRes has a stronger foothold in the industry, thus, better prospects.
It's on Atomos...that's it.

Quote:
Back to the topic. Dan Keaton: Does CD plan to support ProRes Raw or not?
The answer is "no".
Gary Huff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY USA

Scan Computers Int. Ltd.
+44 0871-472-4747
Bolton, Lancashire UK


DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2019 The Digital Video Information Network