audio and video sync at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2008, 11:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
audio and video sync

Hi,

I captured some footage the other day and the audio and video fail to match up.

It appears as though they slip away from one another as the clips get longer. The longer the clip the more pronounced the sync issue gets.

Anyone familiar with this problem with Premiere pro cs3?

By the way, the footage was shot with the xh-a1, 24f hdv. It was also captured with the corresponding preset available on adobe's website. (ppcs2 preset)

Thanks

Jay
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2008, 04:38 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
It's all Premiere CS3's fault to conform audio badly. If there's a drop in the video, it will start to loose sync. There are ways to avoid that. Capture with HDVSplit. Or use conversion program such as SUPER to grab the audio out from the .mpeg file. THen import back to premeie and relink to the video. It's dumb but I don't know other better method.
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2008, 10:48 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
i was having that problem with pp2 and hdv footage. although sd footage was fine.
Was this for the same reason? I thought maybe it was RAM related.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 10:39 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 735
Does HDV Split allow you to capture an entire hour long tape without having the audio troubles?

I hate this problem and am desperate to avoid it.

If I can capture an uninterrupted hour of DV & HDV footage with HDV Split then I will try to use it instead.
__________________
John Hewat
Mammoth Media Productions
John Hewat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2008, 11:11 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 579
HDVSplit doesn't change anything, i tried it.

Im currently not editing HDV because of this problem.
Ger Griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2008, 08:02 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Iqaluit Nunavut, Canada
Posts: 98
ouch

I haven't had the chance to try HDVsplit yet. But if HDV has trouble with PP3 too than I may end up regretting purchasing such a pricey "professional" program!

I assume the best thing to do is monitor while I capture, if there is a drop-out than have to stop and start again from that point.

Anyone else suffering with this problem?

I woner if Adobe would be willing to refund because of this issue?
Jay Legere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 11:28 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
I was about to create a post on this. I am experiencing sync issues shooting in SD! It seems Premiere is a very touchy program and that things must be done in a very specific way. I began working with Premiere to avoid purchasing a new home computer (Mac) as I edit on a Mac at the studio, and fancied the idea of being able to do some projects at home. When the funds are available, I will be purchasing a new Mac for home!

Sorry if that info was not helpful, just thought I would let you know you are not the only one. For now, I correct the sync issues manually.

-JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 11:57 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
I think the Premiere 3.2 update fixed the audio unsync issue.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2008, 07:14 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Syncing audio and video has been a pox on NLEs for me since I started working with Premiere 1.x on a Quadra 950. You'd think that in over a decade someone would have wrestled this problem to the ground. That said, I've not had a sync problem with native HDV captured both with HDVSplit and PP 3.x, on three different machines. Luck 'o the Irish, maybe.

PP 3.2 might be better at handling corner case sync issues than previous versions, but it sounds like a system problem. If you have a computer that you'll use semi-exclusively for editing, you might want to reload the OS and build the HW and SW components very carefully. If you don't have a machine like that, you might want to consider it. It's good to muster all available computer resources to handle the heavy workload imposed by HD video.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 02:15 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 277
I have several hdv tapes I captured using PP3 before I had discovered HDV Split. They were all playing fine in Media Player, but losing synch in PP at about the middle of the video.
After installin the 3.2 update, the synch problems were gone :)
Jon Shohet is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network