The new H4n recorder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

All Things Audio
Everything Audio, from acquisition to postproduction.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 11th, 2009, 04:33 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
The new H4n recorder

I just recieved the new recorder and used it on one wedding. I can't speak to the technical side, although I can say the recording results are very good to my ears, there are a two things I am a little disappointed with.

1) The rubberized body is just a coating of sorts. It looks rubberized, but does not feel that way. Just my opinion.

2) The recorder does not (at least I have not yet discovered it) allow for separate recording levels within the two tracks of the on-board mike or the imputs.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 06:38 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Bill, thanks for the report - I wasn't aware that the H4n was shipping.

Right - I don't think the H4 allows different recording levels for each of the XLR inputs, and I don't really need it or want it for the built-in mics. But that would be nice to have on the XLRs...
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2009, 11:36 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 13
H4n

In the MTR (multi-track recording) mode, each channel is separately adjustable: Page 42. Also, be sure to go to ZOOM and get the firmware update.

I haven't put the H4n to any difficult yasks yet, but it seems promising.

Chris
Chris Christ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 01:17 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
I know that in MTR each channel is adjustable, but I couldn't figure out how to start recording on all 4 channels at the same time.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 01:24 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
for more info about this recorder

H4n Handy Recorder
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 10:31 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Rankin View Post
2) The recorder does not (at least I have not yet discovered it) allow for separate recording levels within the two tracks of the on-board mike or the imputs.
So, if I'm using just the inputs, say a wireless mic on one, and a shotgun mic on the other, I can't control the levels on these seperatly? What I do to one I have to do to both?

Unless I'm in 4 track mode, which means only 16 bit, not 24bit, then I can do whatever to each track independently?
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 11:06 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Anybody who has the new H4n - several of us would send very good thoughts your way if you would be so kind as to do a one-hour sync test.

E.g., run your camcorder, run the H4n at 16/48 or 24/48, audible slate, roll both for an hour, tail-slate, ingest to your editing system, and see how the marks line up in your NLE.

The original H4's clock wasn't good enough for long takes... Sure hope Zoom improved on the clock chip.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 11:32 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
Dylan - I am still learning this H4n and so far, I have not been able to adjust the inputs individually AND record both channels at the same time.

I'll try to get a sync test done asap.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 03:27 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Burlington
Posts: 1,961
On the original H4 (firmware 2.20) you could separately adjust the recording levels of the two external inputs. It is in a menu however, you couldn't easily do it "live". It's more for fine tweaking in addition to the gross adjustment of the two external sensitivity switches. I feed mine with a mixer almost 100% of the time, so again it's just a fine tweak to match the output of the mixer. The few times I used just external mics hooked directly to the H4 I also adjusted these levels independently, but the material I was recording was pretty even.

Surely they didn't do away with this control on the new unit!?
Jay Massengill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
I have been working with the H4n and unfortunately, it appears to me, that they have removed the track adjustment feature.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 07:41 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
I just completed a sync test with my camera and the H4n, and after one hour of record time there is NO noticable difference to the ear. Looking at the timeline waveform the H4n appears to be slower by one or two frames.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 09:37 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,498
Does this recorder work for voice overs? I was looking at a ROPE podcaster but the Zoom H4n attrached me.
Sean Seah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 09:50 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
Sean, it records audio very well.
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 10:10 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 904
Interesting. How are the preamps?
Chris Swanberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2009, 10:27 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 390
I cannot comment on the technical side. I just know the sync is quite accurate and the audio sounds very good.

Anyone else?
__________________
Bill
www.rankinimagery.com
Bill Rankin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > All Things Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network