Rode NTG-2 too slim for A1 shotgun holder? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 20th, 2008, 03:25 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Munich Germany , Singapore ,NSW Australia
Posts: 419
I use a simple solution. I use some left over foams from my pelican case and stuff it between the mic holder and stuff any mic in between.
__________________
Website: http://www.Motiononcanvas.com Camera Operator in Sydney Australia and Singapore.
David Chia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2008, 10:47 PM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
I dislike the NTG-2 on the A1 because of it's length. I like the controls and handle of the camera to be clear and the NTG-2 tail end juts pretty far back. It's especially true without a right angle cable. Also, with a deadcat on it, pushing the mic too far forward results in hairs in the picture. Even with a Lightwave mount, I had to be careful to keep hairs out of frame. Given the choice, I think the NTG-1 is a better option as long as you don't need the mic in other places that lack phantom.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 07:56 AM   #18
Go Cycle
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Huntington, NY
Posts: 795
I actually wrapped a small piece of VELCRO around the Mic. then placed the other half of the VELCRO in the holder. My RODE fits perfectly. My XLR cables also are right angled for a neater appearance.
__________________
Lou Bruno
Lou Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 08:02 AM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Aberystwyth, Wales, UK
Posts: 91
I used some sticky backed black foam. I wrapped it around twice and then placed her into the holder, its not perfect but it won't come out.

Mark
Mark Rook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 12:18 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Kalaheo, Kauai, Hawaii
Posts: 27
I just got my NTG-1 yesterday and dealt with the same issue of fitting in the XH-A1 mike holder. I like the ideas posted here and mine is somewhat similar. I used a sticky-backed felt pad cut down to 1" wide and long enough to make one wrap around the mike. Found it easily at the hardware store. Seems to add a little cushion too. Looks clean as well.

Erik
Erik Nudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2008, 11:01 PM   #21
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripp Woelfel View Post
You all might be overtaking the plumbing on this. I followed someone's advice and looped the extra mike cable thru the mic holder. That way, it fits just fine. It doesn't provide any more shock mounting so your other solutions might be better, particularly the fancy shoe mounts. I've had no problems with the Rode in the camera mount with that loop of mic cable in there.

The price was right and it keeps the extra cable out of the way.
I looped the extra mic cable into the shotgun holder with the mic during a shoot today and it worked well. I liked the fact that this solution got the extra bit of mic cable out of the way and seemed to make the mic fit the shotgun holder just right.
Carrie Cannaday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 07:30 AM   #22
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Another downside to the NTG (1 or 2) in the A1 holder is that deadcat shows up on screen. I had to trim mine.

Also, the Lightwave shotgun isolator from my XL1, is 26mm and a very tight fit for the A1.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 11:36 AM   #23
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: R.S.M. Calif USA
Posts: 16
I performed some minor surgery on a foam grip from a Razor-scooter, giving it a paint job along with a red pin stripe and presto bingo a “Canonized”(pun intended) foamed mic mount.
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2 too slim for A1 shotgun holder?-canon-ized-foam.jpg  
Ernest Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 01:04 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
I'm curious you guys. Is their really THAT much of a difference between he stock mics and the Rhode?
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2008, 04:32 PM   #25
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
I went to get the "O" rings and found two that might fit. Not having my equipment with me, I came home with both sizes. I found 3 of the #15 rings worked nicely as they are thicker and can be positioned to line up with the gaps in the rubber ridges of the mount.

Alastair,
I don't know if there's "that much difference" between the built-in and the Rode but the reason to use a shotgun is so you can have a second mic such as a wireless.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 05:20 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 93
Alastair,

I don't know any reason when I would consider using the A1 stock mic again. It's loud and pretty unfocused compared to the Rode. Its noticable, but then again, its all about what you're using it for.

As far as jimmy-rigging the NTG1 or 2 to fit, I think its worth it to get an O-ring because the mic picks up way too much contact noise to really consider getting good audio otherwise.

Hubert,

What do you have attached to your lens? Is that a wide angle adapter or something else?
Ryan Postel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2008, 05:32 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 177
Yep, it's the WD-H72 wide angle adaptor.
Another vote for the SM-5 shockmount to keep the dead cat out of sight.
Hubert Duijzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2008, 06:57 AM   #28
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alastair Brown View Post
I'm curious you guys. Is their really THAT much of a difference between he stock mics and the Rhode?
The built-in mics are pretty good in terms of frequency response, but there's a bitt too much handling/motor noise. More to-the-point, they are more-or-less omni-directional, whereas the NTG1, AT897, k6/ME66 etc. are short shot-gun and so reject much more off-axis sound.
__________________
Steam Age Pictures - videos in aid of railway preservation societies.
Mark Fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 08:05 AM   #29
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
I was in a Chinese market yesterday shooting a woman talking with a customer. I remembered this topic and switched to the internal mic just to compare. Unfortunately, the A1 doesn't have the nice internal/external switch that the XL1 series had so the scene had changed a little. I will post something here when I get back. For now, here's a still I snapped with a digicam.
Attached Thumbnails
Rode NTG-2 too slim for A1 shotgun holder?-chinesemarket.jpg  
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 01:21 PM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Espoo Finland
Posts: 380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hubert Duijzer View Post
Rode SM-5 is a cheap and good shockmount
And if you attach the SM-5 with the front part into the holder the mic moves about 10 cm back...
Petri Kaipiainen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network