HDLink -- various questions - Page 19 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 31st, 2008, 01:07 AM   #271
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
My bad. Thanks for the help!
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 12:36 PM   #272
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Niagara, Ontario
Posts: 141
how important is scene detection when capturing from HDlink with 2:3 pulldown

I'm asking this because of audio sync issues I'm encountering when capturing from my HV20 using Cineform HDlink. The audio is in sync at the beginning, but my the end of the 1 hour file, it is out of sync.

How do I get around this, I was turning my camera off and back on several times when capturing to the tape, but that shouldn't cause loss of audio sync should it? And if so is there a workaround?
Jay Cowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 02:45 PM   #273
Sponsor: CineForm
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA
Posts: 153
You should definitely use the scene detect option. Long captures will go out of sync if there are a lot of camera stop and start points. So to answer your question, scene detect is very important. Use it and your files should be in sync. If you still run into issues, contact us at CineForm support.
__________________
Jake Segraves
Technical Support Manager | GoPro...Be a HERO.
Jake Segraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 03:26 PM   #274
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Niagara, Ontario
Posts: 141
i'm concerned because I'm not sure if I'm going to be able to use scene detect. My clock was never set on my HV20 when I was doing all the filming.

So i have plenty of tapes full of stop and start footage, that I need to get captured. I guess this is going to create extra work for me, but what do I need to do to keep my audio in sync, but still convert to 24p?
Jay Cowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 06:08 PM   #275
Sponsor: CineForm
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA
Posts: 153
You could capture the footage with HDVSplit and then convert the files to CineForm files with HDLink in a second process. HDVSplit will recognize the scene changes.
__________________
Jake Segraves
Technical Support Manager | GoPro...Be a HERO.
Jake Segraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 08:02 PM   #276
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Niagara, Ontario
Posts: 141
excellent, this is exactly what I was looking for.

What exactly does HDVsplit detect in the clips that allows it to split the scenes, that hdlink doesn't?

If I use HDVsplit to convert already captured unsplit 12gb m2t files into individual scenes, am I losing any quality? If so, I'll just re-capture all my footage over again using HDVsplit.
Jay Cowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2008, 10:57 PM   #277
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There looking at other factors. Our split mechanism works fine for all HDV source except for HV20/30's that don't have there clock set, weird I know. HDVSplit, doesn't do any conversions, so there is no loss in using it before converting the resulting files in HDLink.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 02:08 PM   #278
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
HDLINK and AVCHD

Guys still having some issues.

Yes I do have an AC3 decoder installed, but I am unable to get any audio playing in my converted cineform AVCHD files. No idea what is going on - Frsh install of WinXP and drivers, CS3.

To work around this I have been capturing via my Blackmagic Intensity via HDlink over HDMI from the Sony SR12E. Works, but I have another annoying problem in that the capture window blanks out for a split second here and there, resulting in skips in the recorded Cineform.

I'm using the beta Prospect HD currently.
Thanks
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2008, 02:57 PM   #279
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Your your source m2ts files play in Window Media Player with audio, if not HDLink will not convert them. This likely means there is still somehting wrong in your audio decoder setup.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 06:59 PM   #280
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
still not working

I am stuck here.

When playing in media player there is no sound. There is if I play with VLC.
Tried various AC3 software drivers. Nothing.

ANy other ideas?
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2008, 07:42 PM   #281
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You have to get audio working first which is before any CineForm tools will get involved.

This is the AC3 decoder that works for others : Download AC3 Filter 1.51a

Drop your M2TS file into GraphEdit to see why the audio is not working.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 02:32 AM   #282
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 88
HDLink DeInterlace.

I was wondering what kind of method does HDLink use to DeInterlace? Is it what people call as Smart DeInterlacing? Where if it detects motion, then deinterlace. Or is it field blend? Or something else?

If I want a 24P results out of 50i footage, which one will give better results:

- DeInterlace 50i to 25P -> Edit 25P -> Output 25P -> Convert 25P to 24P.

- Edit 50i -> Output 50i -> Convert 50i to 24P.

- Convert 50i to 24P -> Edit 24P.

The third workflow leads me to a question, does HDLink do great job converting 50i to 24P or will I get better result using Magic Bullet Frame?

Thanks in advance.
Desmond Sukotjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2008, 10:16 AM   #283
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is a modified linear light field blend. It works best on sources with a shutter speed that matches the field rate (i.e. 50Hz for 50i, 60Hz for 60i), the results are more resolution than deinterlace typically offers. We don't find smart deinterlacers all that successful, neither preserving much resolution or have a predictable motion blur. For you use HDLink you can deinterlace and convert to 24p in one step, with audio pitch compensation.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2008, 08:29 AM   #284
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: LONDON
Posts: 178
Hdlink - avchd

Clarification please on getting HDLINK to convert with sound...
Deniz Ahmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2008, 08:33 AM   #285
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
Deniz...

d/l and install ffdshow and x264 on your computer. they're free and it will allow playing of avchd on wmp.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network