Green halo around frame after compression? Need help have to deliver video today! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 2nd, 2009, 11:26 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 96
Green halo around frame after compression? Need help have to deliver video today!

As noted in the thread title, I am ending up with a soft green halo (lack of better term) all the way around my frame after sending it to compressor. It doesn't show up in FCP when editing only after it's been compressed. Anyone ran into this?

I'm still very new to FCP, using lynda.com to learn the software. Any help would be great because I'd need to get this disk in the hand of the client today. Thanks.

Chris
J. Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 05:12 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 406
I had this but only if I used the de-interlacing option in Frame controls in Compressor. I tried converting the same file on a different computer and problem went away leaving me none the wiser. I think it is a Compressor issue though and nothing to do with FCP.
Geoffrey Cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2009, 09:04 AM   #3
Sponsor: Abel CineTech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 360
Try exporting to ProRes directly out of FCP (export w/ quicktime conversion) before compressing with compressor. Sometimes compressor can create issues when going directly out of FCP.
__________________
Andy Shipsides -Camera Technology Specialist
AbelCineTech, New York - Visit our Blog - http://blog.abelcine.com
Andy Shipsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2009, 12:06 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 96
Thanks guys, but let me ask a questions that will reveal my newbie status. How do you export footage out of FCP using prores? Thanks.
J. Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 06:35 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
You know, I feel a bit better know I'm not the only one!!!! I just did a fresh install of Snow Leopard and FCS3 and finished my first edit this afternoon. As soon as I ran my content through compressor I saw the soft green frame around the image (in mine it's around the top, left, and bottom- oddly not on the right).

I tried every variation of settings you could think of (btw, I was exporting XH-A1 24p HDV using a DVD setting) and finally found something that fixes it.....turn OFF frame controls.

In earlier versions of Compressor frame-controls were OFF by default. Now it seems they are ON by default. Typically thats not a problem but apparently it seems to be the culprit for this green haloing.

My biggest concern now is sometimes I like to use high settings on the "Resize Filter" when down converting my HDV to MPG2/DVD for the best possible image quality. I guess I'll have to hold off for now- or at least till Apple acknowledges this issue and fixes it. That is, of course, enough people are having this same issue.

I'd be VERY interested to hear if this solves your problem like it did mine. Subscribing to this thread!
__________________
Glen Elliott
Cord 3 Films
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2009, 07:03 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
Update: Here's a thread about it I found on the Apple Support Forums....
Apple - Support - Discussions - Green line on left side of HDV-to-DVD ...
__________________
Glen Elliott
Cord 3 Films
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 10:33 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 96
So is the consensus that there is no fix but simply workarounds? This seems strange to me. I don't know if this matters but I too am using a XH-A1, I doubt that is part of the problem but it is a constant between Glen and I. Maybe some of you guys that are smarter than me have an answer.
J. Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 11:57 AM   #8
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
This won't get resolved unless Apple gets directly involved. One of you guys having this issue should submit a trouble ticket to Apple Pro support; it's free with a new install of FCP7 and make Apple fix the problem.

Once Apple identifies the issue then you can relate what the "fix" is.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2009, 03:48 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
I'll have to explore than avenue- do you know how to submit a trouble ticket off hand?
__________________
Glen Elliott
Cord 3 Films
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 12:24 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 96
Glen how do you turn off frame controls? I want to make sure that this will at least bandaid the situation until we see a fix from apple.

btw, has anyone submitted a trouble ticket yet?
J. Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2009, 04:44 PM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,898
You'll see a tab for it- click on the video settings and look through the tabs in the inspector. Everything will be grayed out, so you need to click on the little gear icon to the right to allow you to change the drop down box from "ON" to "OFF".
__________________
Glen Elliott
Cord 3 Films
Glen Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2010, 10:59 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 96
Turns out my frame control setting was already turned off, so this "fix" didn't work for me. Any other thoughts?
J. Chris Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2010, 03:39 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
What about if you add some 'source inset cropping' in Compressor. As the output will remain constant what ever you inset the crop at, you will just distort the image if the ratio is out.

See grab:
Attached Thumbnails
Green halo around frame after compression? Need help have to deliver video today!-picture-10.png  
James Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 8th, 2010, 10:05 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 96
Thanks for the help!
J. Chris Moore is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network