NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2002 - Page 28 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2002, 02:13 AM   #406
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Hello Jo,
I have the RTMac and, honestly, I can't currently recommend it to anyone using FCP3 under OS X. The RTMac provided some value when I was using FCP2 under OS 9. It's real-time effects were nice to have and the break-out box was very nice to have.

But after nearly a year of missed promises Matrox has still not provided OS X support for the RTMac and seems to have no idea when it will do so. The most they've provided so far is a driver that keeps the board from crashing Macs with nVidia displays. Also, since FCP3 provides real-time rendering of some of the most common effects and transitions the potential added-value of the RTMac has further dimished.

In summary, the RTMac has been the most disappointing purchase I've made in quite some time. It was a good product in theory and added value in its early days. But Matrox seems to have abandoned the product. Mine has been de-installed for quite some time and looks like it will stay that way indefinitely.

If this hasn't discouraged you I can make you a really great deal on an RTMac delivered right to your door for a great price!
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2002, 07:12 AM   #407
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I'm reading between the lines here, but I think this speaks to Apples plans for FCP in the future. i see a day in the not too distant future when many effects will be RT with no rendering to output. Avid is really going to push Apple in this entry level, pro NLE market.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2002, 09:42 AM   #408
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 331
That depends on who you are and what you need to do. I'm currently shooting two music videos that will use MB. My option is to get into a Flame suite and do the same thing at a $450 rate/hour. The job would take 8 hrs in the Flame. MB saves me money since I know alot on how to work in AE.

If your work is merely "for fun" and your not filthy rich then I can't see the point of getting MB. If you make home movies don't buy MB.
__________________
Martin Munthe
VFX Supervisor/DP/Director
Martin Munthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2002, 10:26 AM   #409
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada
Posts: 10
I'm doing a couple of DV short films and, along with the Mini35, I'm looking for otherways to get them to look more film-like. Do you find that MB does this?

e
__________________
Ed Araquel
bitnautics imaging
http://www.bitnautics.com
bitnaut1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2002, 08:13 AM   #410
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 331
Absolutely. The philosophy of not adding scratches and grain is the way to go. MB does a very clean 24p/25p/30p conversion of interlaced material. Not perfect but the best conversion I've seen. Make sure you shoot for the MB specs to get the best results.

With good lighting, the right exposure, mini35 and skills in MB look suite you can't go wrong...
__________________
Martin Munthe
VFX Supervisor/DP/Director
Martin Munthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2002, 10:04 AM   #411
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
<<<-- Originally posted by Martin_M : Absolutely.
With good lighting, the right exposure, mini35 and skills in MB look suite you can't go wrong... -->>>

Haha .. that easy, eh? :)
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2002, 01:08 PM   #412
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
thanks rob for the info. but i dont now if fcp3 can output to mpeg1, it is not mentioned in the settings. Do you know?
thanks anyway,
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2002, 01:36 PM   #413
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 331
Yeah. They still haven't invented that "Automatic Award Look" preset in DV cameras. Hey Canon, wake up!

;)
__________________
Martin Munthe
VFX Supervisor/DP/Director
Martin Munthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2002, 02:53 PM   #414
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
In FCP you can choose export to FCP movie. Then import in Quicktime and export as AVI. I'm not sure if that will help. QuickTime 6 will encode to MPEG 4 or can create a VCD file that toast can burn. Quicktime 6 is not compatable with FCP, so you may want to look into the capabilities of Quicktime 5. FCP doesn't do well making MPEG 2 files. MPEG 1 will require DVD Studio Pro or a program like Cleaner. Confusing, I know.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2002, 03:00 PM   #415
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
okay so for cleaner i need to make a full contained movie and then import it in cleaner?? i must have a mpeg1 file because they want it that way! what is avi for codex?? it uses cinepac but i cant get any info on what it is..
confusing i dare say,
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2002, 03:33 PM   #416
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Cleaner is probably the best software for doing MPEG 1 on the Mac. The rendering is slow but the quality is much better than QuickTime and also more flexible. Do your files have audio? If so, they may need to be handled sperately, depending on the size of your project. What are you going to burn the CD's with, Toast?

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2002, 12:25 PM   #417
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Posts: 110
Jeff

How do you cut the compensation on? I mix footage from time to time and usually have audio problems.

Thanks
Marcus
__________________
Marcus Farrar
Production Director
Katana Productions
www.katanapro.com
Marcus Farrar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2002, 12:42 PM   #418
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Soest ,Holland
Posts: 307
actually i was thinking of using my mac burner, so far it worked okay, why should i use toast?
David Slingerland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2002, 07:54 PM   #419
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Are you using FCP? If so, under preferences, check the box that says >Sync Adjust Movies Over__. Fill in the blank with 5 minutes. This forces FCP to count the audio samples rather than assume the audio is a perfect 48 KHz.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2002, 07:58 PM   #420
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
If you've got Toast, use it. It is much simpler. You pick VCD as the type of CD you want to burn and Toast does the rest. I've never tried the built in Mac burner. I don't know if it will burn the CD correctly or not.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network