Can I use the GY-HD111E With my JVC SD monitor? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems
GY-HD 100 & 200 series ProHD HDV camcorders & decks.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 28th, 2007, 04:45 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Can I use the GY-HD111E With my JVC SD monitor?

Hi,

I am just about to take the plunge and go for the HD111E (UK model with FW in) and I have a quick question about monitors.

I have a 15" JVC TM-H150CG SD broadcast monitor (see spec at http://www.creativevideo.co.uk/publi...=jvc_tm-h150cg)

Y: 1.0 V (p-p), 75 ohms, negative sync
C:0.3 V (p-p), 75 ohms (PAL)

I am interested to know if I can use it with the HD111E and in what modes. It has BNC and S-Video inputs and supports 750 horizontal lines.


According to the JVC web site (http://www.jvcpro.co.uk/item/index_html?item=GY-HD111E) it has the following video outputs:

Analogue composite output: 1.0 V (p-p), 75 ohms, unbalanced (RCA)
Analogue component output:Y: 1.0 V (p-p), 75 ohms, unbalanced (RCA)
PB/PR: 0.7 V (p-p), 75 ohms, unbalanced (RCA)

Can anyone help?
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 06:22 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Scotland (UK)
Posts: 219
Hi Alex - Yes you can use your JVC monitor but of course only in SD - we used to use a JVC TM140 to monitor with a JVC HD101E a while back - nice picture. However this was replaced with an 8.5" Sony HD monitor for location work.

If it's the same set up as the TM140 (sounds like it is) connect the camera and monitor via one lead (composite) phono one end (camera) to BNC adapter at the other (monitor) - is this the info you were looking for?

Regards: Stu
www.studioscotland.co.uk
Stewart Menelaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 06:50 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 161
Thanks Stewart!

Yes this is exactly what I wanted to hear.

Out of interest will the HD480/60p mode work with the monitor or are all HD modes out of play?

Alex
Alex Wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2007, 07:16 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Wren View Post
Out of interest will the HD480/60p mode work with the monitor or are all HD modes out of play?
I have the same JVC monitor and a 110U and they work fine together. I use a RCA to BNC converter and hook a BNC cable from the composite out on the camera to the monitor. All modes should work. However, the camera will convert it to 29.97 interlaced.

Matthew
Matthew Rogers is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > JVC ProHD & MPEG2 Camera Systems > JVC GY-HD Series Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network