Camera dosen't show up using firewire at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant
The 4K DVX200 plus previous Panasonic Pro Line cams: DVX100A, DVC60, DVC30.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 10th, 2004, 11:16 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Camera dosen't show up using firewire

My camera isn't showing up on my laptop g4 powerbook. The beach ball spins,,,,, but as soon as I unplug the firewire everything goes back to working normal. When I open Final cut pro 4 - it says it doesn't see anything DV device. Is theier something wrong with my camera or is there something else I need to download for this camera?
Barney Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 12:51 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
What OS are you using?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 01:52 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
os 10 - I'm at work right now, but I think at home it's 10.2.1? Actually the camera has been making the computer hang for awhile until I unplug the firewire. Sometimes though, the computer does see it! I'm really stumped with this one! any advice would help!
Barney Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 04:23 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Upgrade to 10.2.8 using the combo update from the Apple support site. The upgrade is free, but fairly large at 97MB. I hope you have broadband.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2004, 05:23 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Thank you so much! I'll give it a try! I have broadband at Work (I work for Comcast) But I live way out in the country and only have dial up. I'll burn a CD, bring it home and give it a try. I'll let you know what happens. Thanks again
Barney Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2004, 11:01 AM   #6
Tourist
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Dang it!...It still doesn't work! I plugged a Hi8 dv cam in the firewire ports and the computer recognized it. But, unforetunately it doesn't see the ag-dvx100. I have a feeling that the firewire port on the ag-dvx100 is bad. What do you think?
Barney Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2004, 01:27 PM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
It is beginning to look that way, indeed. Did you repair permissions after updating the OS to 10.2.8?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network