Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 18th, 2004, 04:27 AM   #16
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
This was done on Vegas 5:

For the vertical flip do the following (everything will be flipped).

1. go to "track motion"

2. give "angle" under "rotation" a value of 180
(make sure "enable rotation" button is pressed)

-OR-

2. right-click in the schematic on the right and
choose "flip vertical"

I couldn't find an easy way with trackmotion to add 16:9 letter-
boxing (it was stretching the picture instead of cropping), but
if you go to my letterbox calculator you can download a mask
for 16:9 from that page. Make a new track above your current
ones and drop the mask in. Get it here:

www.visuar.com/letterbox/calc.htm

1. add the .GIF to a new track ABOVE your other tracks

2. right-click on the GIF in your timeline and go to properties. Go to the media tab and set the pixel aspect ratio to "0,9091 (NTSC DV)" or "1,0926 (PAL DV)" (whichever applies) and OK everything.

3. now change the tracks compositing mode from "source alpha" to "Multiply (Mask)"

And you are done! You can stretch the event to as long as you
need to cover your complete project length. You can also shift
footage up or down underneath these black bars.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 18th, 2004, 03:02 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
Gary,
I was refering only to the addition of a mask and not 'reframing' the shot (Hugh got his response in while I was still writing mine...).

While I haven't actually done what you say (reframing vertically) I agree it would soften the image somewhat.
Kyle Ringin is offline  
Old November 18th, 2004, 03:10 PM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
So then, if I want a pristine image, just shoot 4 x 3 and shut my hole?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline  
Old November 18th, 2004, 07:25 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 241
If a true 16:9 camera or anamorphic convertor are out of your price range (or not really warranted for your production), you can either crop in camera, crop in post or shoot with a fake anamorphic 16:9 (or just use plain 4:3).

http://members.macconnect.com/users/...een/index.html

This site explains it all pretty well as I recall.
Kyle Ringin is offline  
Old November 18th, 2004, 11:48 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jackson, WY
Posts: 178
THANKS ROB!!!!
__________________
i am the muffin man.
Fred Finn is offline  
Old November 19th, 2004, 06:45 AM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
How do I crop in camera? I have the PD 170 and doesn't that use a crappy anamorphic squeeze?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline  
Old December 18th, 2004, 10:25 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 101
dynamic ram preview

I currently run a p4 3Ghz processor with 1G of ram.
I like to do alot of previews during editing. Will increasing ram to 2G significantly improve the speed of ram renders? On the preferences menu you can alocate as much ram as you need so will doubling the ram halve the speed of ram renders or is it a law of diminishing returns?

Also what is the difference between a pre-render and a ram render? is one faster then the other or do they look different or does one use cpu power and the other just ram?

Why does the pre render disappear after you play with the time line? isnt it prerendered to a temporary file? so why doesnt vegas keep that file for later use if needed?
Tung Bui is offline  
Old December 18th, 2004, 10:29 PM   #23
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Shouldn't reduce the speed of them but WILL increase the possible length of them.

Ram Render renders to RAM - Pre-render renders to the hard drive.

If you change something that affects the section of the timeline to which the pre-render applied, the pre-render will be "lost" (technically the file is still on the hard drive). That's why many people prefer the "Render to New Track" option instead.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 20th, 2004, 10:51 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 101
Thanks Mr Troxel.
I'm slowly working through your dvd guide which I think is very helpful.
Tung Bui is offline  
Old December 24th, 2004, 01:46 AM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Wentzville Missouri
Posts: 59
DVDA 2 will not register

I have purchased the academic ver of vegas 5 + DVDA 2. Vegas registered fine DVDA acts as if it registers then say i have 14 or whatever days left. next time same thing anyone have this problem. Should i just call sony?
Chris Moore is offline  
Old December 24th, 2004, 06:57 AM   #26
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Call Sony Tech Support and they should be able to walk you through solving this problem.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old December 24th, 2004, 07:05 AM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Venice, FL
Posts: 850
Calling is best. If you can't get thru you may try re-registering with your firewall/antivirus disabled.
__________________
You are either growing or dying.
Bob Costa is offline  
Old December 24th, 2004, 10:31 PM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 91
Dual Display Card

I need more screen real estate in vegas...I'm looking at the plethora of dual display cards out there and frankly I'm a bit overwhelmed by the choices. Would I benefit from buying a high end graphic/video card w/ dual display capibilities...or should I just buy a cheaper dual head card? Do these high end "gamer" graphics cards help out with render times for effects in Vegas? What do I need here?
Brian Bechard is offline  
Old December 24th, 2004, 11:22 PM   #29
Rextilleon
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 520
NO reason to buy a high end video card. Lots of people use the Matrox duel head cards without incident.
David Mintzer is offline  
Old December 25th, 2004, 12:02 AM   #30
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
The gamer cards don't help at all for Vegas.

Get something cheap and quiet (passive heatsink... look at pictures) and with the right outputs (DVI, VGA, etc.) and hopefully with a DVI-VGA adapter if necessary. ATI, Nvidia, and Matrox all make dual monitor cards. I recommend Nvidia since they have better drivers (you can quasi-calibrate your monitor to NTSC bars and tone) and they are cheaper than Matrox if buying new. On eBay, there's lots of old Matrox cards that'll work and those are cheap.

If buying new, go to newegg.com and check out the geforce4 series cards (or the newer but slower performing fx5200 cards).
Glenn Chan is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network