Vegas Video discussions from 2004 (Q3Q4) - Page 60 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 17th, 2004, 03:49 PM   #886
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
I use the XL-1 4-track audio all the time, though you could do the same in 2-track.

When I use 4-track I keep the onboard mic on the main channels and hook up the wireless to on of the sub channels.

When you take it to the NLE it is a good idea to keep the 12 bit track separated from the 16 bit. When you render, you save the final audio to the 16 bit production track.

This gives you a very nice natural stereo audio and allows you to mix your mono voice track anyway you want.

One caution: You cannot listen easily to all 4-tracks when shooting. You can list to the mains or sub tracks, but when you listen to both together you actually listening to cam's mix of all 4-tracks.

Once you have done this a few times you will rarely have problems.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline  
Old September 17th, 2004, 06:09 PM   #887
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 155
hmmm...

im thinking that an NLE isnt going to export it back out the way this lady wants it...and its been soooooo long since ive dealt with linear that i cant remember how the audio is handled.....i will need to do some more research....i thought it was similar to the way the GL1/XL1s does the second track at a slightly lower bitrate...so its still L/R audio channels, but a separate channel. I thought maybe someone in here had some more recent linear experience that might be able to point me more in the area i need.

I really dont think my teacher my knows how the audio channels work with miniDV...but she did say i could turn it in on miniDV...so im thinking maybe it wont matter.
__________________
Trey Perrone

Trey Perrone is offline  
Old September 17th, 2004, 07:14 PM   #888
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I think I'd start by giving it to her with the voice on the left and nat on the right (or the other way around). If she asks, you can explain that they ARE separate.

Here's another possibility but would require going analog: Send the standard video and single stereo channel via firewire to a convertor. Run the convertor to the camera with the audio connected to stereo 1. Send the OTHER stereo channel to the sound card and run that output direct to stereo 2. This would allow you to get a 4-channel tape direct from Vegas.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 18th, 2004, 10:08 AM   #889
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Any faster way of changing between two color corrected needs?

Hey all. Well I'm finishing up the editing on my first short film that actually had a producer, budget and crew but I've run into some interesting situations. The film is around 18 minutes long and all the while I've been color correcting for web delivery (don't ask why) but now I have a need to prepare the project for DVD delivery to be viewed on TV's. Is there a fast way to remove all the event fx on each track without going to each shot and removing them manually? (every shot has atleast color curves applied) I tried the split screen function on the preview window to just make the prev window bypass all fx and then render out but the render didn't reflect this not to mention I still will need some mild color correction after started back over clean. Any suggestions? What do you guys do?

By the way I'm in Vegas 4e. If it aint broke, don't fix it. I'm staying with 5 for 24p stuff and using my friends dvda2.
Bryan Roberts is offline  
Old September 18th, 2004, 02:46 PM   #890
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Tsunami has a tool that will remove all effects from all selected events. Just click the link under my name for more details.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 18th, 2004, 04:13 PM   #891
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 436
Nice, that'll save my afternoon. Thanks Edward.
Bryan Roberts is offline  
Old September 19th, 2004, 06:16 PM   #892
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden - Helsingborg
Posts: 283
Strange problem, need a good solution fast.

I have a strange problem and a deadline..
I need a good fast solution... FAST!

I use Vegas 5, Camera XL1s, PC system.
PAL!

When I captured a simple pal file from my XL1
it looks okay, but when I put it in a project and try to
render it out it looks really bad. I have some serious
interlace problems.. Anyone have had the same experiance
and know a good solution..

SCREENSHOT:

http://www.atamashi.com/012.jpg
Andreas Fernbrant is offline  
Old September 19th, 2004, 06:26 PM   #893
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden - Helsingborg
Posts: 283
I've noticed this only happens Vegas 5.0
Not in my old 4.0

Anyone have this problem?
Andreas Fernbrant is offline  
Old September 19th, 2004, 06:57 PM   #894
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
It would probably would be more useful if you put up a screenshot of your project and render settings with some info on the original format of the video.

From the JPEG image, I don't see the severe combing/shearing I associate with interlace problems. It looks more like a lot of blur. Off the top of my head, it looks like the video is being converted to progressive somewhere and that might be the problem.

Does the rendered footage look like that when you play it back on an interlaced device?
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old September 19th, 2004, 07:10 PM   #895
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden - Helsingborg
Posts: 283
Yes, it looks like that on a monitor,
I deinterlaced it because it should be easier to see what I meant.

I've fiddled around with the render settings a trillion ways and that doesn't help...

I guess it's back to Vegas 4 to finish this project..
Andreas Fernbrant is offline  
Old September 19th, 2004, 09:10 PM   #896
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Try comparing settings between Vegas 4 and Vegas 5. Sounds like something, somewhere, is set differently. Check all of the File - Properties, Options - Preferences, and Render As settings to confirm all are the same.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old September 19th, 2004, 09:40 PM   #897
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Widescreen Rendering

I am having a problem and hope you guys can help me out. I am trying to render a project in NTSC widescreen and when I do it letterboxes the sides, not the top and bottom. Why is this? Thanks.

Mitch
Mitch Buss is offline  
Old September 19th, 2004, 10:20 PM   #898
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Was the original video shot in 4:3 or widescreen/16:9? If it is in 4:3 you'll need to crop off the top and the bottom to get the widescreen look.
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old September 20th, 2004, 03:20 AM   #899
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Simon: although Vegas allows scripting you do not have access
to a lot of things to make some really powerfull scripts like you
are suggesting. Let's hope they add more stuff to the scripting
interface shortly (wouldn't get my hopes up though).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old September 20th, 2004, 05:24 AM   #900
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
2 things..

4:3 footage is just that..it wont change regardless of your project..

so you MUST set the file/cli[ within the timeline to 16:9 AND the Project properties to DV Widescreen to get the full effect

Alternatively u can set vidcap to capture in 16:9 which will do an automatic conversion for u.. which i woudl suggest not to..
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network