Canon XH batteries / battery thread - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2007, 07:37 PM   #91
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I had a bad NP1 battery years ago from Sony. It happens.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 01:38 AM   #92
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 20
Battery Gremlin

Thanks for the response.
The battery is a Canon BP-950G.
I put it back on the charger and within a couple of hours (guessing) it showed a steady light again. I put it in the camera and have turned it off and on for a few minutes several times in the last few hours and it looks fine. It's still showing a full charge on the batt meter.
At this point I'm willing to blame a Gremlin. It's weird. I just hope it doesn't happen again. OR maybe I should hope it happens again quick so I can get a new one from Canon.?????
Edward Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 01:51 AM   #93
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 959
I've had this happen twice, 2 different batteries & I believe it's a charger issue. I've gotten in the habit of sliding all batteries to be charged a second time when using that charger before I leave it on to complete the charge cycle. Ever since then there's been no problems. Could be nothing. Could be a contact issue & that second sliding might be cleaning crud I can't see on the contacts? Who knows?

I have Lenmar fast charger as well & is a bit faster & haven't had the above issues.

Bill
Bill Busby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 06:14 AM   #94
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 58
Has anyone ordered the BP-970G battery yet? The big one.
Matt Crane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 07:46 AM   #95
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 151
Any chance you know someone with another charger, so that you can test it in theirs? Maybe your dealer? Also, cleaning the contacts with a pencil eraser sometimes helps. Still, think you just happened to get a bad battery.
Stu Siegal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 08:38 AM   #96
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Beavercreek, OH
Posts: 93
a

Unless the charger was changed from the GL1, GL2, and XL-1s chargers, I don't believe you can charge at the same time you are running a camcorder off of the same charger.

Bill in Ohio
Bill Ritter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 09:26 AM   #97
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 917
Did you put the battery in the camera the night before your hike? I have accidentally left camcoreders on VCR in a bag overnight which drains the battery. Then I go to shoot... OOPs.

Matt
Matthew Nayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 12:09 PM   #98
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I did the same thing when I first got the A1, thought I turned it off but switched it to VCR mode instead.

I've been leaving the battery in the camera, and there doesn't seem to be any drain (assume it's off) as there are with bigger cameras I have.

And speaking of batteries, I assume there's an internal battery somewhere to store all the settings, but I don't recall reading about it in the manual, and I haven't seen a little battery compartment anyplace.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 02:48 PM   #99
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Crane
Has anyone ordered the BP-970G battery yet? The big one.
yeah I got the big one...no probs so far I'm guessing can go over 5 hours with that thing.
Mark Leonard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 03:13 PM   #100
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor
speaking of batteries, I assume there's an internal battery somewhere to store all the settings, but I don't recall reading about it in the manual...
Described on page 14. Built-in, and recharges automatically.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2007, 03:36 PM   #101
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 161
The shutdown of your camcorder could also be a false reaction caused by humidity, but if the problem occurs again, send your camera and battery to Factory Service. Some internal defects may be tricky, resulting with inconsistent and difficult to reproduce symptoms. It doesn't take much, just one loose connection or solder point.
Bogdan Tyburczy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2007, 02:20 AM   #102
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sedona, AZ
Posts: 20
Battery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthew Nayman
Did you put the battery in the camera the night before your hike? I have accidentally left camcoreders on VCR in a bag overnight which drains the battery. Then I go to shoot... OOPs.

Matt
No. I left it in the charger overnight, Used the AC adapter all morning and then, just before the hike, I put the "charged" battery in the cam.
When I got home and put it on the charger again, it read "0" , 1 blink per second.
I have the battery from that second charge in the camera right now, dubbing a tape straight to DVD and it is working fine.
I've ordered the BP-970 clone from BestBatt.com for $68 along with the $19.50 AC/Car charger. I'll report on how they work.
Edward Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2007, 03:09 AM   #103
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Randolph
I've ordered the BP-970 clone from BestBatt.com for $68 along with the $19.50 AC/Car charger. I'll report on how they work.
I got a similar clone for about the same price (the Power2000 bp970 clone, 8000Ah)

Seems to work fine, though its only done a couple of cycles...
Barry Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2007, 03:16 PM   #104
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Battery question

Will my BP941H batteries from my old XL1 be ok for use in my XH-A1? No mention of them in the manual. Connections look the same?

Correction...they are slightly different, see picture link below.
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2007, 03:24 PM   #105
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I checked out a battery from a friend's XL1, and it worked fine in my XH A1. He's getting an A1 and wanted to be sure the half dozen batteries he has would work.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network