NLE Mac / Final Cut questions from 2004 - Page 15 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2004, 07:06 AM   #211
New Boot
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5
<<<-- Originally posted by Graeme Nattress : Unless you've bought MB already, you could take a look at my Film Effects package ( which will do all that you need while remaining inside FCP and getting faster render times too.

Cheers. Just downloaded the demo for your page. I'll surely give it a try
Olaf Olgiati
Olaf Olgiati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 02:15 PM   #212
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 453
I still have WMP for Mac v.7 on my PB and it plays asf files taken from the sd card on my cam - but I have a Panasonic, not a Canon.
Patricia Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2004, 04:10 PM   #213
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cabo San Lucas, BCS Mexico
Posts: 4
best playback card for sequencial rgb files direct to dvd master


i am currently trying to determine what i/o card/box i need to purchase, as well as a jbod drive system capable of playing back high res files. as such, this is my situation:

i need to take a series of images(stop frame animation) that are 2k scans(35mm) ... not telecine, but actual sequencial RGB files(raw or tiff). these files will be individually edited(special fx, compositing, etc.) and then they will need to be downsized to hd so i can play them as movies and view the quality of the footage itself, and the footage/frame/sequencial images with compositing/fx added to them. the final product will be a DVD, and a digital intermediate 35mm film print. therefore, it is extremely important i am able to edit these 2k image files so they can be output back to film, as well as be downsized to hd, sd, and dv for dvd and tape output.

can anyone offer some real world, sound advice as it relates to being able to do this realistically and without a great deal of problems? i have a dual g5 2 gig computer with 8gb of ram.

i am considering the decklink hd card and the xraid from apple. perhaps 8 u320 scsi jbod drives in a dual channel casing with dual channel card. i have looked at cinewave, pinnicle, aja, etc., but really cannot determine which setup will best serve my needs. any help is greatly apreciated.

Eric Martin Jarvies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 06:01 AM   #214
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 4
MAC for FCP4


i have a fully legit copy of FCP4 that i need to use but my iBook, 900 mhz will not run the programme what whould users reccomend,

i think the ibook is not up to FCP, no? well what could i get for about a grand, like, i would like a powerbook but this is out of my range, a G5 is similar price, basically for good editing on FCP 4 what machin do i need to get

ive been looking at a G4 desktop, arounf 80gb hard druve/1.25 Ghz processor/ 768 mb ram, what does this sound like/????

Cheers All

we must continue to fight for the freedom we allready possess
Nick Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 06:16 AM   #215
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,464
I'm running FCP3 on a system like this, but with more RAM (G4/1.25 ghz/1.28 gb RAM). I haven't tried FCP4, but have no doubt that it would run. These machines should still be available new for around $1,300. You will also want a second hard drive, either internal or firewire, bad idea to edit video from your system drive. I use a second 160MB internal drive and a bunch of firewire drives.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 06:53 AM   #216
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
FCP 4.x requires a minimum of a G4 processor to run. I believe your iBook uses a G3, hence the inability to run FCP 4. I agree with Boyd on the use of a dual processor G4 Power Mac and an economical solution. You might also look into the eMacs, as some users report fair performance with FCP 4. The new iBooks use G4 processors and might be an option if you need portability. Real Time video performance will be limited, but the iBook is an option.
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem

Search for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 11:23 AM   #217
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 188
I run once FCP 3 in a PowerBook G3. I uninstalled cause it was a friend who install it (as a favor) but it did run well.
Alexis Vazquez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 11:34 AM   #218
Major Player
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Whidbey Is, WA
Posts: 326
I'm Using a G4/1ghz eMac with 768mb ram and am very satisfied, though I'm going to be maxing out my ram soon. Chris
Chris Korrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 04:48 PM   #219
RED Code Chef
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I'm not a Mac specialist at all but don't you need the Cinema Tools
for this with the high resolution hardware that Apple sells ($$$)?
I've seen some demos of that on IBC last year.

Rob Lohman,
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search for quick answers | Buy from the best: sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2004, 10:49 PM   #220
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 35
Help needed! Movie file identity crisis!

I copied a quicktime file from one disk to another on my mac the other day, it's an hour's worth of video, and makes up half of my 2 hour sequence in Final Cut. I just dicovered that the file, now in it's new position, has changed from being a quicktime file to just showing up as a plain document file, thus rendering half of my project offline. The size is identical with the movie (ca. 13 gigs).

This happened on my G5, with OSX and FCP4. Any help greatly appreciated!
Eivind Vaa
Eivind Vaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2004, 01:37 PM   #221
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2
I agree with Richard, for 5k, look into buying an Avid Xpress DV turnkey solution. I've been editing with Media 100 and Avid Media Composer for years (for the Media100 it wasn't by choice - I was assigned the position to edit with it because my old company bought one and they'd be damned if that room wasn't getting booked). I've found that professional production houses (at least around Boston) use some form of Avid. If you're not an Avid editor, you're not really taken seriously. I know some of you might be offended, but that's just the way it is.
Marko Sullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2004, 10:27 PM   #222
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Morrisville, PA
Posts: 30
Well i have an idea. I cant tell you why it happend but i might be able to help u get it back. make a copy of the file like it is now and put it in a safe place. Then take one of the copies and just tell the OS to open it as a quicktime document by default. If the data isnt trashed you should be back in business. You might have to find the media again in FCP but if it works im sure that wont be much of an issue.
Paul Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2004, 10:55 PM   #223
New Boot
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 15
Thanks to you all for your input!

As someone who wants to edit my own stuff--as oppsed to seeking a pro job in post-production--my main concern is a good-looking final piece with ease of use, maximum of options and minimum of system crashes. In the end, content is king, right?

Also, is the G5 so different in design that it can't be considered the the succeeding generation of the G4?

Gratefully yours,
Carl Russo
Carl Russo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2004, 06:14 AM   #224
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New Delhi, India
Posts: 107
Evind, Paul's absolutely spot on: In 99% of the cases, this is an OSX file system goof up. You can rename the file if you need to, CTRL + click it, and choose the programme you wish to open the file with with the commnad you'll see on the menu that opens up. You should be able to open the file then. In FCP, choose the reconnect media option by CTRL-clicking on the offline media file, selecting reconnect media, and relinking it to the file you have (hopefully) recovered. If you've renamed the file, be sure the Mathcing name only option is unclicked, or it won't let you select the renamed file.
Hope this helps! Best of luck!
First they laugh at you
Then they fight you
Then they negotiate with you
...Then you win!
Ram Nagarajan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2004, 06:20 AM   #225
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Georgia
Posts: 76
Capturing Problems


I kinda have a big Problem with Capturing.
Using Canon XL1s, PowerBook 1.33Ghz aka 17 inch and Final Cut Pro 4

Ok when I start to Capture the Footage (Firewire Pal or/and Firewire Pal Basic)
it will just stop during the Capture but the DV is still rolling.
After a bit I'll get a error (can't remember what is was) something about drop frame or Tape has reached the end of the Tape. Which is not true or it will just sit there and fill my Hard drive up with
non usable DV files.

Oh yeah my scratch disk is a LaCie 120Gig.
Connection: Xl1s to LaCie to PowerBook.
I also tried straight to the Powerbook.

um help


P.S. i already tried reinstalling FCP, didn't help :)
Shaggy Franks is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network