Sony Z1 and FX1 various questions 2004 - 2005 - Page 14 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1
Pro and consumer versions of this Sony 3-CCD HDV camcorder.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2005, 05:46 AM   #196
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Budapest , Hungary
Posts: 194
Best Price of Z1

Where is the best deal on the Z1 now ??? I deceided to buy one !!
Gabor Lacza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2005, 09:14 AM   #197
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,463
Since you're in Hungary I'm not sure what the best approach will be.

However we urge everyone to buy from the DVinfo sponsors who make this site possible. In the case of the Z-1 that would be the following:
Boyd Ostroff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2005, 01:07 AM   #198
New Boot
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 12
Time-code fault in PRESET mode with Z1

I can't see any other posts listing this very seious problem with the Z1 - perhaps it is just with cameras delivered to Australia!
When operating in PRESET mode (the usual pro mode to put a roll number on the tape) the camera loses 4 frames every time you turn it off! This also occurs when the camera is on and the heads power down after about 3 minutes of non use. It also happens when you have gone to the deck to review something AND after viewing used END SEARCH to reset to the last frame. Going back to camera mode after reviewing footage and using the REC REVIEW feature does not correct the problem either.
The editor said that digitising my 10 rolls in to FCP was a pain as on the first roll alone there were about 30 t/c breaks.
Yes, a way around this is to shoot in REGEN mode - but THE Z1 is supposed to be a professional camera so I expect to be able to use the professional features on it. I've passed this problem on to Sony a few days ago but still have heard nothing back. What's the Sony service like in the States - I hope it's better than head office here.
Tony Wilson ACS
Freelance DOP specialising in docos DV and (now) Z1 shooting.
Based in Sydney, Australia
Tony Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2005, 01:39 AM   #199
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 65
Understanding the Fx1/Z1

What whould have been really useful to help understand the FX1/Z1 is two detailed block diagrams. One that includes every physical component, and one that includes the full image aquisition and processing flow. The very limited handbook doesn't include such information. Perhaps we at hdvinfo can assemble such diagrams. I have browsed through Sony's site, but not found anything. Nothing beats experimenting with the camera in the field, but I also need to know details about the inner workings to be able to make smart decisions.

As I understand it there are two information stream bottle necks for this type of camera. A) The ADC. Here some information is lost due to limited resolution of the digital aquisition. B) The mpeg compression for tape storage. Here a lot of information is lost, especially color. Understanding at what stage the various camera settings and effects are applied can help me understand the camera better, and know to what extent I should use them. My approach so far has been to use all camera settings/effects to aquire a result as close as possible to what the final post result should look like, since I want the best possible video before the mpeg crunches off some color information etc. Still I wonder about the following:

1. Gain, how is it applied? I suspect it controls the video amplifiers that sits between the CCD and the ADC, but it could as well control CCD bias current or even (not likely) be a purely digital function applied after the ADC.

2. The sharpness setting, is that a digital "effect" or a tweak of the CCD?

3. Color level, phase and skintone are they all digital effects, or how are they produced?

4. The iris. My feeling when tweaking the iris and looking at it through the lens is that it follows discrete stops. It is also slightly delayed (1/3 sec or so), perhaps for lighting change smoothness. On the other hand I see no technical reason why iris should be discrete, and the fine grain feeling on the iris knob gives a false sense of unlimited number of sub stops. Is it discrete or not? (for practical reasons it doesn't really matter, but I'm curious).

5. Are the lenses treated for UV? (I use a UV filter anyway)

6. Whitebalance must be a digital effect. I cant understand how it would work any other way?

7. How about cinematone, is it digital, or is it an analogue color filter/compressor applied to the CCD output?

/Björn Morén
Bjorn Moren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2005, 12:28 PM   #200
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Budapest , Hungary
Posts: 194
Matte Box

Anyone has some info on this Cavison 4x5.65 Matte Box?
Gabor Lacza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2005, 02:25 PM   #201
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,448
Douglas Spotted Eagle--a Z1 question

Hey, Douglas, when Sony produced that Z1 demo DVD, I know all the stuff was shot with the Z1. When it was edited, how was that done? Was it edited HDV, like captured from the HDV deck into a NLE, or did they do some other trick as some are saying on at least one other board?
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2005, 02:23 PM   #202
Major Player
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: orlando florida
Posts: 426
FX1- Component Pass-Thru


Looking for some confirmation from others on whether something works, or does not work(my experience).. When i try to use the camera as a pass thru device..Signal coming from the computer (vegas 6) firewire out to the camera, and then feeding the component out of the camera to a monitor.. I do not get any signal.. if I use composite or S-Video in this same configuration, i do have a signal that is passed to the monitor.. Anyone experience this?? How about on the Z1?? The same ??

Mike Moncrief
Mike Moncrief
Mike Moncrief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2005, 02:44 PM   #203
Inner Circle
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,831
According to the manual, the camcorder does not support IEEE in and component out. You have to print your damn project to tape then play your project on tape to use the component out.

Very frustrating!
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2005, 08:21 PM   #204
New Boot
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 15
How do I get audio thru headphones in FX1

I've plugged headphones into the headphone jack on the FX1, but can't hear any audio through them. Is there something I need to set that I've overlooked?

Marc Fairorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2005, 09:06 PM   #205
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Make sure the volume is turned up.

Also check your levels and make sure you've actually got an audio signal.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2005, 09:06 AM   #206
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
This post may be deleted

This post may be deleted

Last edited by Franzino Belgica; May 16th, 2005 at 11:57 AM.
Franzino Belgica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2005, 06:39 AM   #207
New Boot
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Z1 - Ntsc/pal

In all the promo material, and also when I phoned Sony to check with them, they say that the Z1 is switchable between NTSC and PAL and that the only difference between the different models (Z1E, Z1U, Z1J, etc) is the power lead and the language of the manuals and menus.

However, now that I have bought a Z1U, the manual explicitly states that it will only output NTSC.

Is the manual wrong or are Sony misleading people???
Antony Meadley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2005, 07:02 AM   #208
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 93
The manual isn't great. Check your settings menues and see how you can set it up. My z1 e can shoot pal/ntsc so yours should be able to too. It is the fx1 that is either or.
Colvin Eccleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2005, 10:51 AM   #209
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Reggio Emilia Italy
Posts: 63
Sony portable HD DU1

Hi all,I use a 170 with Du1 and I'm really glad about it.I'd like to know if is possible to use the same portable hd with Z1 without problems.
Thanks in advance.
Maurizio Panella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2005, 12:03 PM   #210
New Boot
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 17
Mixing pd-170 and Z1

Have a friend who is working on a documentary and has been shooting with a pd-170. She would like me to shoot some b-roll for her in my part of the country. Mostly outdoors and/or controlled lighting. Anyone had any experience in mixing these two cameras. How hard are they to match up?


Whit Wales is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Sony XAVC / XDCAM / NXCAM / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Sony HDV and DV Camera Systems > Sony HVR-Z1 / HDR-FX1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network