Vegas Video discussions from 2005 (Q1Q2) - Page 34 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 9th, 2005, 07:27 PM   #496
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
NYC Vegas users

On Monday, March 7th, we're holding a B&H/VASST open house/preview session for the "Now Hear This" training event being held at the New Yorker Hotel on the following day.
After the open house, the NYVUG will be holding their meeting. The meeting will be held in the New Yorker Hotel.

For any of you not in the NYC area that would like to attend the "Now Hear This" audio for video event, B&H is subsidizing the cost of the event so it's only $50.00 for a full day of audio for video training, presented by the VASST team. If you want more information on the agenda for the training day;

http://www.vasst.com/mailers/NHT_Agenda.htm will get you there.
Monday night 5:30-7:00- Free preview/social/training
Monday night 7:30-9:00- New York Vegas Users Group Meeting
2 special presents @ Vegas Users Group meeting.
a: HDV presentation w/new Sony Z1U camera, shooting, editing, delivering
b: Editing techniques, tools, plugins for Sony Vegas 5

$50.00 for the full day training.
Tuesday All Day 9:00-5:00
__________________
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old February 9th, 2005, 07:28 PM   #497
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
They are not totally integrated at this particular time, but you can ingest with the Decklink tools, and output via the Decklink tools while working in Vegas.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old February 9th, 2005, 09:57 PM   #498
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Redding, California
Posts: 114
Spot,

Does this means you'd have to render your timeline to an uncompressed avi or quicktime and then export that via Decklink tools?

How does Vegas perform when working with 10bit uncompressed video files? (I think this is the highest quality SD setting for the blackmagic codec) Can Vegas still slice and dice like it does with DV footage, or does it lag a bit when working with such large files?

thanks
-jesse
Jesse Rosten is offline  
Old February 9th, 2005, 10:53 PM   #499
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Montreal , Canada
Posts: 197
Try this:


www.yousendit.com

If your uncompressed file doesn't go beoynd 1go you can upload it there and download it from there too .... this will cost you 0$

Pretty nifty site , use it while it lasts.

Phil
__________________
Still lost in Vice city

My website: www.production24fps.com/english.php
Philippe Gosselin is offline  
Old February 9th, 2005, 11:36 PM   #500
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,706
Images: 32
Auto-levels plug-in

Thought some of you might be interested in some video tests I did using the auto-levels plug-in.

Click here to see the results.
Michael Wisniewski is offline  
Old February 10th, 2005, 08:47 AM   #501
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 66
I use auto levels from time to time. My concerns with it are that in VERY low light, the levels add a ton of noise that some folks don't like and has a tendancy to flicker when lighting changes even a little.

That said, I had a reception where the lighting was pretty much candles only and had to use to auto levels just to bring out the speeches and didn't get any complaints.
Jeremy Rank is offline  
Old February 10th, 2005, 08:49 AM   #502
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
NICE....
VERY nice.. just what we needed in Vegas too

thank you so much youve saved me ALOT of time :)
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Old February 10th, 2005, 12:02 PM   #503
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 69
Veggie Toolkit 2.0 available with new enhanced Batch Rendering

Veggie Toolkit Version 2.0 is now available for download and purchase.

Version 2.0 features extensive enhancements to MultiRender, making it the most extensive and flexible batch rendering and media conversion tool available for Vegas. Media Manager (was Clip Logger) adds additional clip import and media pool export functions and media file management tools. The new Relinker tool quickly searchs and replaces offline media without unnecessary prompting.

New MultiRender features include:

- Search multiple folders for projects or media files (including wildcards)
- Batch conversion of media files
- Save and restore settings via presets
- Use any marker type as the selection to render
- Select multiple selections in a project
- Select multiple render templates per source
- Render fixed length segments for web delivery
- Add leader/trailer using generated media or media files at render time
- Add master video effects at render time
- Incremental rendering of long form projects
- Render history with status and elapsed render time
- Drag and drop support
- Import/Export of presets including merging presets
- Add jobs to queue while background rendering

Try the free, 15 day, fully functional trial version to see how the Veggie Toolkit can save you time and effort.

Randall Campbell
www.peachrock.com
Randall Campbell is offline  
Old February 10th, 2005, 07:44 PM   #504
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: warsaw, poland
Posts: 440
Adi,

maybe this? (a am not vegas expert)

did you checked the frame rate? is the frame rate of this animation same as in project?
__________________
in kino (sic!) veritas
Filip Kovcin is offline  
Old February 10th, 2005, 11:00 PM   #505
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oakland,CA
Posts: 135
What DV Codec to use in Vegas ?

Hello !

In Vegas you can select to use Vegas DV codec or Microsoft DV Codec ( The one included in DirectX )

Which one would you suggest to use ?

Below are XL2 color bar captures:

Vegas DV Codec:
http://home.comcast.net/~chalbers/vegas_color.png

MS DV Codec:
http://home.comcast.net/~chalbers/ms_color.png

From looking at it I would say Vegas is better, but I'd like some input with reasons on which one to use.

Thanks !
Frank Aalbers is offline  
Old February 10th, 2005, 11:34 PM   #506
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
From the color bar captures, it looks like Vegas is handling 7.5IRE setup correctly while the combination of Vegas + MS DV codec is not. If you want to use the MS DV codec (why?), then I think there's a fix for it.

2- Why the MS bars are wrong:
Look at the three tall dark rectangular boxes to the bottom right. They are the pluge bars.

On a computer monitor, you should see three bars.
On a television, you should see just the bar to the right. The other two bars should be black with no discernable line between them.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old February 10th, 2005, 11:57 PM   #507
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oakland,CA
Posts: 135
So Vegas codec it is then ! :-)
Frank Aalbers is offline  
Old February 11th, 2005, 12:33 AM   #508
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico USA
Posts: 326
To be specific, when you do a Firewire capture, you are merely transferring data from the camcorder to the hard drive. There is NO codec involved in the transfer process. The video has already been encoded to DV format in the camcorder before it's written to tape. Technically, it is probably more accurate to call it a transfer instead of a capture.

Now, a DV codec is involved for decoding the steam off the hard drive for playback and displayed on the preview window on the computer monitor. It's also used for encoding whenever the original footage is modified in any way, like adding a title, filter or a transition. This requires that the original footage is decoded, modified and encoded back to DV. The Vegas DV codec is the best looking DV codec I have ever tested and the Microsoft DV codec is about the worst. There is absolutely NO reason to use the Microsoft DV codec in Vegas. EVER.

John
John Cline is offline  
Old February 11th, 2005, 02:10 AM   #509
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 141
Still do not understand this 25p to 24p concept

Ok, so if I have 25p from PAL footage and want to convert to 24p I can just slow the footage down inside Vegas or FCP.

But then it is still in PAL format, right?

What is the actual workflow from PAL footage to 24p and then delivering on DVD to an NTSC market?

I have performed a search and read all the posts but still do not understand this concept.

Please help, thanks.
Greg Jacobson is offline  
Old February 11th, 2005, 02:19 AM   #510
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, NYC
Posts: 367
Excalibur tally light box to thick...

Love the Excalibur plugin, but -- how can I make the blue tally light box that surrounds each pip smaller (by default)? It's too thick and takes up too much space within the frame...

Thanks --
James Binder is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network