Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 97 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 21st, 2006, 03:22 PM   #1441
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 215
I couldn't resist posting another scene.

http://talentshow.yahoo.com/;_ylt=Ao...z1tEF#v=104328

or -

http://tinyurl.com/smr3o

Brian
Brian Mitchell Warshawsky is offline  
Old November 21st, 2006, 04:08 PM   #1442
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sofia Bulgaria
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Grant
All PAL standard video apart from DV is UFF, don't panic about it, it all works out correctly. If you render from PAL DV to Sony YUV the field order gets swapped. It has to.
Maybe yes, but the rendered video doesn't look smooth like before, now it looks like progressive on TV set, i.e. flickering appears. Not good!!!
Plamen Petrov is offline  
Old November 21st, 2006, 04:26 PM   #1443
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Turn on subtitles on the DVD, capture that output.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 21st, 2006, 05:00 PM   #1444
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
Turn on subtitles on the DVD, capture that output.
Well the project is in HDV so that won't work without reducing my resolution back to SD. Thanks for the suggestion though.
Kipjaz Savoie is offline  
Old November 21st, 2006, 07:58 PM   #1445
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Temperance, MI
Posts: 81
Okay, the play button works on the dvd player remote, even though it does not work in Architect. Kind of odd.

There is one other problem I'm having. When there is more than one video file in the dvd, I am somehow not able to skip from the last chapter of one clip to the first chapter of the next clip. Is this just a matter of changing the "title play" feature?

Thanks.
Ryan Laytart is offline  
Old November 21st, 2006, 11:17 PM   #1446
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 78
HDV playback - Am I missing something?

I capture the m2t files in Vegas 7 from a JVC BR-HD50 deck. When I place them on the timeline, with the preview monitor in Preview (Auto), I get a frame rate of about 6 or 7 fps.

However, if I render those clips from the timeline to an m2t, then place that m2t on the timeline, I get a frame rate of 25 fps (PAL).

As far as I can tell, the rendered m2t is the same as the captured clip, so why the big difference in preview frame rates? Am I missing something blatantly obvious?

Hopefully someone understands what I'm going on about here and can offer some advice.

Cheers
Pat
PJ Gallagher is offline  
Old November 21st, 2006, 11:23 PM   #1447
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor, ON Canada
Posts: 2,765
Set the End Action of the last chapter of one clip to the first chapter of the next clip.
Mike Kujbida is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 07:42 AM   #1448
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
what are your project properties set to when you capture the m2t files?
Bill Ravens is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 08:41 AM   #1449
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Then, yes, you're basically stuck with manually creating multiple text generated media. If you can get them as named regions (using Sub-Text, for example), one other possibility would be the Quick Label tool in Excalibur.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 09:18 AM   #1450
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 35
Ah that's what I was afraid of. I just thought there might be some plugin or script that could help - and also make sure the captions conform to guidelines for captioned programs.
Kipjaz Savoie is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 09:26 AM   #1451
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Project properties on capture wouldn't matter, but project properties on edit do matter, I think this is what Bill is meaning to point out. If you have your system set for 1080 HDV when you're editing 720 HDV, then you'll take a performance hit, and vice versa.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 03:50 PM   #1452
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vineyard, Utah
Posts: 191
I think that I have a solution for you, I'm not sure, but I think...

-Make 2 video tracks.
-Copy footage onto the new video track.
-On the bottom track's video, right click, properties, and set it to lower fields first.
-On the top track's video, do the same thing, except set it to upper fields first.
-Render it out, and see how it looks.

(Oh, while you're in the clip's properties, you could check 'reduce interlace flickering', ((in both the clips)) and that could help)

Just a thought. I use NTSC, not PAL, but give it a try and see if it works.

SB
Steven Bills is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 06:00 PM   #1453
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 78
Project settings were the first thing I thought of, and they match up (720p[25]). Might have to double check the capture settings again, just in case I am screwing up something there.

Thanks for the suggestions so far.
PJ Gallagher is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 06:46 PM   #1454
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 35
Render As... only gives me audio choices now - help!

When I go to "render as" under file, I am only given audio options. It didn't used to be that way.

I'm sure there is some setting I toggled on/off, but I can't find it. Any ideas?

Mark
Mark Lewis is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 06:48 PM   #1455
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
Be sure you're using the HDV template, not the HD template.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network