Vegas Video discussions from 2006 (Q3Q4) - Page 98 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

What Happens in Vegas...
...stays in Vegas! This PC-based editing app is a safe bet with these tips.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 22nd, 2006, 08:55 PM   #1456
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
You could always hold down CTRL-SHIFT when starting Vegas to reset it back to factory defaults.
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 09:20 PM   #1457
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: singapore
Posts: 5
Any ideas anyone?
Eugene Kong is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 10:01 PM   #1458
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 148
No idea. I'm dealing with my own exception error in Vegas, and no one has been able to help me including Sony.
Will Hanlon is offline  
Old November 22nd, 2006, 10:36 PM   #1459
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 87
DVDA Disc Space Used Message

Hey guys,

Everytime I try to bring a mpg 2 file into DVDA 4 it says that the disc space used is 8.1 GB (Which is extremely large.) I opened this same file in DVDA 2 and it says disc space used 4.4 GB. I just completed two DVD projects in DVDA 2 because of this issue. What could be the problem? Is there a setting that I need to change in DVDA 4?

Thanks.
__________________
Jack-of-all-trades trying to master one (Videography)
www.sdfvideo.com
Albert Rodgers is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 02:18 AM   #1460
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 508
Vegas 7 using quad cores?

I believe Vegas 7 utilizes Core 2 (and other dual cores) to their potential, but the new Intel quad core (QX6700) is essentially two Core 2 E6700 together. Will Vegas be able to use the four cores to their potential? Will Vegas be able to use AMD's 4x4 to its potential when it comes out?
Alex Thames is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 03:08 AM   #1461
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 497
Apparently there's support as these tests indicate http://www.hothardware.com/viewartic...leid=878&cid=1 ... PC and CPU testers should use Sony Vegas more often to benchmark new equipment...
__________________
High-Definition Video Consultant - CEO of Delimex NV - http://www.delimex.be
gear of choice : http://www.wespgear.com
Werner Wesp is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 07:05 AM   #1462
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
Forget what DVDA says about file size. It is not only very conservative but often so far off it's pathetic. Look at the file size in the EXPLORER WINDOW. It will tell you exactly how big the file is. I never look at the file size as it's read out by DVDA-this IMO is the one thing I wish they would do something about soon.
Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 07:59 AM   #1463
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
http://www.vasst.com/resource.aspx?i...c-a7f431ebd02d
Bill Ravens is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 08:54 AM   #1464
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Temperance, MI
Posts: 81
Yeah, I do have that set right. It's just the matter of being able to skip, using the remote, from the last chapter of clip 1 to the first chapter of clip 2.
Ryan Laytart is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 06:35 PM   #1465
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 78
Okay, it seems that the footage when capturing is registering as 50fps for some reason, rather than 25fps. Found this out by capturing some footage in CapDVHS. So it may be the way it was shot, rather than the settings in Vegas.
PJ Gallagher is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 06:46 PM   #1466
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
This is a actually something I've been wondering about myself. I know you can assign an affect to a whole track or the output of all tracks....but is there a way to apply in one action an effect to multiple clips....so that each clip has the effect applied, but you can still adjust each one individually.

I know you could key frame an effect over a whole track need be, but I prefer when say doing colour correction and brightness/contrast control, to put those on each clip then adjust them individually. This task would be made a little bit easier if I didnt have to add the effects to each clip.
Lee Kennedy is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 06:55 PM   #1467
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
COPY>Paste Attributes

Highlite the clips you want the effect on and paste it to those then you can go back in and individually adjust but to me it seems if you're going to do that you might as well save it as a preset and then place it on the clip 1 at a time and adjust to taste.
Don
Don Bloom is offline  
Old November 23rd, 2006, 09:46 PM   #1468
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: washington
Posts: 13
screen problem

ok when i view effects in vegas it comes up as the image below, it cuts off after the size of the default box, anyone else have this problem or how to fix it thanks.

http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i1...ewupscreen.jpg
Jacob Eirckson is offline  
Old November 24th, 2006, 08:25 AM   #1469
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 79
Seth,

Check my article "Video De-interlacing with Vegas" here:

http://michael-morlan.net/pages/lear...nterlacing.htm

Enjoy,

Michael
__________________
Michael Morlan . cinematographer | local 600 operator
http://michael-morlan.net . http://talltalepictures.com
Michael Morlan is offline  
Old November 24th, 2006, 10:07 AM   #1470
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
That's a new one for me. What if you close and then re-open that window? What if you reduce acceleration on the video card?
__________________
Edward Troxel [SCVU]
JETDV Scripts/Excalibur/Newsletters
Edward Troxel is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Windows / PC Post Production Solutions > What Happens in Vegas...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network